Thread: Trend Micro sues Barracuda

Default Trend Micro sues Barracuda - Could it effect Zimbra ?

Slashdot | Trend Micro Sues Barracuda Over Open Source Anti-Virus

How could this effect the use of ClamAV and AmavisD within Zimbra ?
    Last edited by uxbod; 01-30-2008 at 05:47 AM.

I must preface this by saying (1) I am not a lawyer, and (2) I am not a Zimbra or Yahoo! employee. I am speaking of my own accord and on behalf of nobody else.
    How could this effect the use of ClamAV and AmavisD within Zimbra ?
    I would think that the Y/Z lawyers are going to ask this question very carefully. However, my first thoughts are that TrendMicro's patent may be on shaky ground in that adding security features to a mail gateway may fail the test of "obviousness" which is one of the grounds for a patent being disallowed. To illustrate with a really over-the-top stupid example, imagine someone trying to patent a "method for securing electronic information using a centralized password repository." The U.S. Patents and Trademarks office could award such a patent (for all I know they may have) and the holder could, in theory, charge a license fee to anyone who has a password-protected server. It seems to me (as a layman, remember) that filtering mail at the gateway is almost as obvious as putting a password on your server account.

This article gives a much more detailed discussion of the merits of the case.

The mere fact that Symantec and McAfee have paid TM license fees is not, in and of itself, evidence that TM has a valid patent; it may only mean their legal departments did not have the stomach for that fight. Barracuda has taken the position (according to the article) to publicly fight the attack rather than quietly settling. It should be an interesting one to watch.

I would certainly hope nobody makes a knee-jerk response to this vis-a-vis Zimbra. . .but again that's just my opinion.

Cheers,

Dan