Thread: maildrop/procmail mail from multiple accounts to folders?

Default maildrop/procmail mail from multiple accounts to folders?

I have several accounts that I snag to my local system with fetchmail+ssl. As I d/l them, I run them through maildrop and drop them directly in to specific folders (after filtering out spam, virus, junk I dont want, etc). I started playing with Zimbra, but did not see any way to do anything similar to this with Zimbra.

I searched the forums and saw someone asking for something similar as well, but did not see any responses to it.

So, is this possible? This is sorta a deal breaker for me if it isn't so I'm hoping it is doable.

Robert

You can process mail like you do today but can't deliver to zimbra in different folders. So assuming you can put your foldering logic in to Zimbra filters then you'd be all set. In general we don't expect lots of larger enterprises to process mail this way so it may not become a native feature but I think it's reasonable for us to provide ways via LMTP to have zimbra deliver to different folders.

You can also do this via the SOAP api today but that would involve some code.
    Looking for new beta users -> Co-Founder of Acompli. Previously worked at Zimbra (and Yahoo! & VMware) since 2005.

Fooh! Unfortunately, the mail filters in Zimbra seem to be pretty limited, at least compared to what can be done with maildrop. If there was a MDA available that would allow you to store the messages in to a specified folder, it would be pretty easy to have maildrop use it to save the messages where I need them to go.

Can you point me in the direction for what needs to be done to write something like this? If there is an API already, good chance I can manage this.

Another option would be if Zimbra supported Sieve, which I would think more enterprise users might be interested in.

Many thanks!

Robert

You can use SOAP to deliver into seperate folders.