Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Choosing community distro to host Zimbra

Default Choosing community distro to host Zimbra

Hi, new member's first post here!

I've (finally!) managed to free up a machine (AMD-64 powered - pre-Pacifica) and would like to start evaluating and playing with Zimbra with a view to influencing clients. I am a consultant rather than a techie, so I'm not driven to spending a lot of time in the bit-bucket doing multiple (re-)installs, etc.

Examining "Open Source Edition Downloads" http://www.zimbra.com/community/downloads.html I see that all of the 'free' distributions mentioned are somewhat old (Fedora is up to 9.0, SuSE to 11.0, and Ubuntu 8.04).

Can I download and use one of the above 'latest' without too much fear, or is this asking for difficulties and I should back-off to the versions listed?

Should I build a 32-bit machine given the apparently lesser enthusiasm for 64-bit versions of Zimbra?

Please advise,
    =dn

Welcome to the forums

How much memory does your server have ? To be honest for the FOSS edition I personally would go with CentOS 5.2. Never had any problems.

Thanks.

I did wonder about CentOS given its server and 'ISP-type' approaches, but as I've other projects of a more desktop-y nature for which I will likely use the same machine, I worried about whether it was too server-oriented.

This machine has 1GB RAM (at the moment).

Back to the import of my question though: CentOS isn't even on the list of host OpSys. Are you saying that as long as I use the switch to disable version testing that CentOS (or anything else) will likely be ok? 64-bit version?

Regards,
    =dn

With 1GB of RAM no point in using 64bit, to be honest unless you are going over 4GB no point at all. With respect to CentOS then it is not officially supported for the Network Edition version, yet many people (inc. Zimbra staff) do use CentOS for both FOSS and NE versions.