Recently we've had an employee leave permanently in an unexpected way. They had been with us for almost a decade so that box has gigs of old but still possibly relevant mail. This has exposed to me what seems like an odd way of handling mailboxes in terms of accessing them and how they are counted against the license. For the record we're running the top end Network Edition.
Currently we're right at our user license cap, with a new employee on the way. I had figured that by closing the account of this past employee that it would reduce the license usage, prevent future inbound mail, but still allow a logged in administrator to view old messages. Basically archive the account. However the behavior I see and read in the documentation shows me that's not the case at all.
With the account closed, no inbound mail for it is accepted, which is good. However even an administrator logged in via the web admin console can't view a closed account, it tosses back a 'session ended' error. So.. that sucks. The final problem is that it doesn't reduce the number of used accounts.
To me it would seem that when an account is changed to a closed state it can't be utilized by an end user, so why should it count against the license cap as if it were active? It's left me in the weird position of having to set up a completely standalone mail server and migrate gigs of mail onto that. It seems like a less than enterprise solution.