Thread: local users cannot send mail through zimbra.

Default local users cannot send mail through zimbra.

Hi All,

First off please don't beat me up too much as I am new to zimbra! Secondly I'm hoping someone can shed some light onto my current issue, I'm running zimbra on ubuntu Hardy Heron (8.04) 32bit.

I have configured zimbra and I can successfully send and receive emails for my zimbra users. However my zimbra server is hosted on the same box as my webserver and when my web applications try to send a mail it doesn't seem to be relayed through zimbra. It looks as if they are going to the default postfix mail queue for the distributions postfix but I might be wrong about that.

I subsequently logged in as a local user on my ubuntu server and tried to send a test mail to an account I know zimbra has successfully delivered mail to. I simply ran mail on the command line and dispatched the message, this too failed to reach the recipient and seemed not to leave the box.

Does anyone know what I've done wrong here ? I really need to be able to dispatch mail from the box from local users and not just zimbra based accounts.

I hope someone can shove me in the right direction.

I've been doing some more digging to try and resolve this but I'm still at at loss
    what I have found is when I log into the box as a local user, well call him user , and run the mail command It gets spooled to /var/mail/zimbra.

If i log in as root and peform a mailq I get the following error:

postqueue: warning: Mail system is down -- accessing queue directly

now is i su to zimbra and perform mailq again i get:

mailq is empty

There seems to be a queueing conflict either in the base o/s or zimbra that I can't currently get to the bottom of.

The unforutnate thing is that all mail going out of from my webserver is halted in this queue and is obviously screwing up those sites (user registration etc).

I hope someone can help me resolve this!