Thread: [SOLVED] Need a hand - Crashed Zimbra server

Hybrid View

Default [SOLVED] Need a hand - Crashed Zimbra server

I really am in a pickle here. The automated cron backup jobs that I configured backed up nothing. I *think* that I can grab the old zimbra ldap and message store files. I have already loaded a different box with ZCS. What do I need to do to import the old message stores? I can really care less right now about user accounts. I only had 7 users. What I need is the old mail. I cannot seem to find the actual database files for Zimbra. It would be really nice to just be able to take the old message store area and recover it.

And for the curious. I had 2 hard drives in a RAID 1 mirror. Both drives failed at almost the same time. I'm having a bad day! :>

Any ideas? Help?

I'm not a Zimbra expert but here is what I would do. If you have the mySQL database files and the store files then just create the accounts on the new zimbra server and import the old data by hand. Even better would be if you had the ldap data.

Otherwise if you just have the store files then you are in for some fun. The messages are stored just as numbers with the mappings for each in the mySQL databases.

Figure out what numbered folder goes with each account under /opt/zimbra/store. Then in Winodws use Outlook Express to add each IMAP account. Rename the .msg files from the store folder to .eml. Drag-drop the .eml files into the appropriate accounts in Outlook Express.

The only issue is you won't know what messages go in which folders. You can figure out the Sent from the Inbox by looking at the To: or From: address.

Thank god someone answered me. I'm soo fired.

Do you know where i would find the ldap info?? I might have it. I can access the whole zimbra folder. If I have the ldap info and store, can I import into a new version of ZCS or do I need to use the exact version it came from?

Can I just dump it over the top of a "like" installation?

Any help is mucho appreciated!