Thread: Help recovering from disaster

Default Help recovering from disaster

Hi all!

I'm a linux admin, newbie to zimbra. Few days ago I was asked for help, a server running zimbra crashed and there was no way to fix it. All I knew is that it was a Zimbra Network Edition, with a valid License key. As they needed to have it up&working ASAP, we downloaded and install latest zimbra network edition (6.0.1 GA) with a Trial License key, and config it with same users it had.

We've got a backup. Its a 48GB .tar that contains /opt/zimbra in it. I've setup a new box (RescueBox), same OS (ubuntu804LTS), and untared it. For some reason the tar file is incomplete, and at some point it stops with an error. Looks like important stuff is there: backups (/opt/zimbra/backup) & Licensekey.

Reading this:

Network Edition Disaster Recovery - Zimbra :: Wiki

My first question is where I can get the version number of zimbra. Remember that we don't have a "working" zimbra in our RescueBox, we only have an incomplete untared backup (/opt/zimbra) from the production server, from the day after it crashed.

We are pretty sure that zimbra's version must be at least some months old, we'll see. But is there any chance if we move our rescued /opt/zimbra/backup to our production server (6.0.1) and try to restore it? Remember that in production server we installed zimbra 6.0.1 from scratch and added users manually again.

Which woud be the best procedure to recover those backups to the production server? Again, backups are form and older zimbra's version that the one is actually in production.

Thanks in advance,

J

su - zimbra
    zmcontrol -v

...gets the version info...

Moving ZCS to Another Server » Zimbra :: Blog

Once u find out the version info, you need to run a clean install, delete the /opt/zimbra folder, mirror the backup to /opt/zimbra/, make sure all the permissions are correct, then it should start up...