Thread: [SOLVED] Recover 'lost' account from db & store?

Question [SOLVED] Recover 'lost' account from db & store?

Hi everyone,

I've been running Zimbra for about 2 years now and barely had any problems I couldn't solve thanks to the extensive wiki and the forum's search engine.

However today I encountered this problem, while trying to change the domain and adding an alias (without saving inbetween the 2 steps).
    Consequently the edited account has disappeared from the admin interface..
    It's a known bug for 5.0.12 and has been fixed, but before fixing the installation with an upgrade, I desperately need to recover the mails (including folder structure) if somehow possible.

The DBs (/opt/zimbra/db/data/mboxgroup11) and mails (/opt/zimbra/store/0/11/) still exist.
    I'm also able to restore the bare mails using zmlmtpinject (see here for more info), but I haven't figured out a way to recover the account itself (or at least the folder structure).

I'd be happy about any idea or advice/help how to regain the mailbox!

Thanks,
    Chris

Did you try the recovery steps mentioned in comment #5 of Bug 35100 - Able to add active account to other users alias lists?

Thanks for your reply! I like the idea of the trick to create a new Account based on the old zimbraID, as the mysql db still provides the account entry!

Unfortunately I get following return when running zmprov to create the new account:
    > zmprov ca x.y@z.tld password zimbraID 6aae8f57-f067-4d24-b949-20835271de8d
    ERROR: service.INVALID_REQUEST (invalid request: zimbraId is immutable)
    Is it possible that I have to set a flag somewhere to make it 'mutable' or is there any other way to circumvent this?

Edit: -v provides a lot more information, as far as i can tell unrelated to missing attributes though:
    > zmprov ca testaccount@domain.tld password zimbraID 6aae8f57-f067-4d24-b949-20835271de8d
    ERROR: service.INVALID_REQUEST (invalid request: zimbraId is immutable)