Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: problème with installing "zcs-6.0.7_GA_2470.F11.20100610213023" on fedora 12

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    9
    Rep Power
    5

    Unhappy problème with installing "zcs-6.0.7_GA_2470.F11.20100610213023" on fedora 12

    Hello Everyone,

    i'm kinda new to linux, i run in my notebook fedora 12, and i want to try zimbra Open source edition so i'm trying to install zimbra Collaboration suite designed for Fedora 11 (zcs-6.0.7_GA_2470.F11.20100610213023)(don't really know if it's the cause of the failed messages)

    Well, my objective is to use sendmail, zimbra to send and receive emails, locally.

    my domaine is named : mondomaine.com.
    my hostname : aminos

    here is my /etc/hosts file contents :
    27.0.0.1 localhost localhost.localdomain localhost4 localhost4.localdomain4
    ::1 localhost localhost.localdomain localhost6 localhost6.localdomain6
    127.0.0.1 aminos.mondomaine.com. aminos

    Concerning the Dns it works well specially when i put queries using nslookup , i have one zone named mondomaine.com. here is the content of mondomaine.com.zone :

    $ttl 86400
    mondomaine.com. IN SOA ns.mondomaine.com. dnsmaster.mondomaine.com. (
    2006110806
    10800
    3600
    604800
    38400 )

    @ IN NS ns.mondomaine.com.


    @ IN MX 10 mail.mondomaine.com.

    localhost A 127.0.0.1

    @ IN A 127.0.0.1

    mail IN A 127.0.0.1
    ns IN A 127.0.0.1

    aminos.mondomaine.com. IN A 127.0.0.1


    hmm, the installation works good untill they tell me the following msg :

    It is suggested that the domain name have an MX record configured in DNS
    Re-Enter domain name? [Yes] yes
    Create domain: [aminos.mondomaine.com.] mondomaine.com.
    MX: mail.mondomaine.com (127.0.0.1)

    Interface: 127.0.0.1
    done.
    Checking for port conflicts


    Note

    The previous configuration appears to have failed to complete

    Attempt to complete configuration now? [yes] yes
    Save configuration data to a file? [Yes] yes
    Save config in file: [/opt/zimbra/config.15760]
    Saving config in /opt/zimbra/config.15760...done.
    The system will be modified - continue? [No] y
    Operations logged to /tmp/zmsetup.06302010-031747.log
    Initializing ldap...failed. (28416)


    ERROR



    Configuration failed

    Please address the error and re-run /opt/zimbra/libexec/zmsetup.pl to
    complete the configuration.

    Errors have been logged to /tmp/zmsetup.06302010-031747.log


    and it's here where i got blocked can anyone helps me plzz it's very urgent

    Thanks in Advance.

  2. #2
    phoenix is offline Zimbra Consultant & Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Vannes, France
    Posts
    23,587
    Rep Power
    58

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by outmind View Post
    Hello Everyone,

    i'm kinda new to linux, i run in my notebook fedora 12, and i want to try zimbra Open source edition so i'm trying to install zimbra Collaboration suite designed for Fedora 11 (zcs-6.0.7_GA_2470.F11.20100610213023)(don't really know if it's the cause of the failed messages)
    It is not a good idea installing a version of Zimbra on a distribution that it wasn't built for. This is an unsupported configuration and while you may get it working you're basically on your own.

    Quote Originally Posted by outmind View Post
    Well, my objective is to use sendmail, zimbra to send and receive emails, locally.
    You can't run sendmail and ZImbra concurrently. Why are you installing a mail server (and a collaboration Suite) on a notebook? This isn't a good idea, does the notebook even meet the recommended specifications for installing Zimbra?

    Quote Originally Posted by outmind View Post
    and it's here where i got blocked can anyone helps me plzz it's very urgent
    Only to you.

    You could have found the answer in the forums if you'd searched. You need to check the format of the /etc/hosts file (check the Quick Start Installation Guide) and the DNS problem is most likely because you haven't got correct DNS A & PX records pointing to the LAN IP of your Zimbra server. You can achieve that with a Split DNS, read the article and check teh forums for details on how to check it's working correctly.
    Regards


    Bill


    Acompli: A new adventure for Co-Founder KevinH.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    9
    Rep Power
    5

    Unhappy

    Thanks man for repleying,

    i have many questions for u and i will be happy if i get a n easy answers :

    1- what kind if Zcs do u advice me to run (i have fedora 12 Os)?
    2- my notebook do meet notebook the recommended specifications for installing Zimbra.
    3- i followed well the quik start document while editing my /etc/hosts file and there i put :

    127.0.0.1 aminos.mondomaine.com. aminos

    aminos is the hostname, aminos.mondomaine.com. is the FQHN.

    hmm i replace 127.0.0.1 to 192.168.1.64 , but it didn't change a thing

    4- zimbra doesn't need sendmail, did it use its own mail server 'postfix', or something else?? can i remove sendmail without any problem??

    5- concerning my dns, it replys well on nslookup queries..
    6- should i have a real domaine name to use zcs.

    Thanks much for your efforts.

  4. #4
    phoenix is offline Zimbra Consultant & Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Vannes, France
    Posts
    23,587
    Rep Power
    58

    Exclamation

    Quote Originally Posted by outmind View Post
    Thanks man for repleying,

    i have many questions for u and i will be happy if i get a n easy answers :

    1- what kind if Zcs do u advice me to run (i have fedora 12 Os)?
    There isn't a version yet for Fedora 12.

    Quote Originally Posted by outmind View Post
    2- my notebook do meet notebook the recommended specifications for installing Zimbra.
    Good.

    Quote Originally Posted by outmind View Post
    3- i followed well the quik start document while editing my /etc/hosts file and there i put :

    127.0.0.1 aminos.mondomaine.com. aminos
    That is not correct and is not the format shown in the Quick Start guide, you also need the LAN IP address line with the FQDN in there as well as the loopback. Check the document again or search the forums.

    Quote Originally Posted by outmind View Post
    aminos is the hostname, aminos.mondomaine.com. is the FQHN.

    hmm i replace 127.0.0.1 to 192.168.1.64 , but it didn't change a thing
    See the answer above.

    Quote Originally Posted by outmind View Post
    4- zimbra doesn't need sendmail, did it use its own mail server 'postfix', or something else?? can i remove sendmail without any problem??
    No, it doesn't need sendmail. Just disable sendmail from starting at boot.

    Quote Originally Posted by outmind View Post
    5- concerning my dns, it replys well on nslookup queries..
    There are threads all over the forums that tell you how to check the Split DNS and what output the dig commands should return, search the forum for them and post the output if you're still having problems.

    Quote Originally Posted by outmind View Post
    6- should i have a real domaine name to use zcs.
    Not unless you want to receive email from the internet. You may have problems with this installation if you're a) on a dynamic IP address from your ISP and b) you want to send email to external addresses. A mail server like Zimbra requires you to have a real domain name with DNS records on external servers, if you don't you'll most likely not be able to send email to external addresses.

    You didn't answer my question about why you're installing a full collaboration suite on your notebook, why are you doing it? IMO, this isn't a scenario that is suitable for the installation of Zimbra.
    Regards


    Bill


    Acompli: A new adventure for Co-Founder KevinH.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    9
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    "You didn't answer my question about why you're installing a full collaboration suite on your notebook, why are you doing it? IMO, this isn't a scenario that is suitable for the installation of Zimbra."

    Hmm, a full collaburation suite, is there any one wich is not full?
    well i'm doing a training in a company right now, and i have to try zimbra the open source edition,
    .
    "this isn't a scenario that is suitable for the installation of Zimbra"..i know plz help me to find frnech and easy tutoriel, and tell me where i have problems

    Thanks so much phoenix

  6. #6
    phoenix is offline Zimbra Consultant & Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Vannes, France
    Posts
    23,587
    Rep Power
    58

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by outmind View Post
    "You didn't answer my question about why you're installing a full collaboration suite on your notebook, why are you doing it? IMO, this isn't a scenario that is suitable for the installation of Zimbra."

    Hmm, a full collaburation suite, is there any one wich is not full?
    L'utilisation normale de Zimbra est une entreprise ou sur un serveur dédié pas sur un ordinateur portable. Je n'ai aucune idée sur d'autres produits dans cette catégorie.

    Quote Originally Posted by outmind View Post
    well i'm doing a training in a company right now, and i have to try zimbra the open source edition,
    .
    "this isn't a scenario that is suitable for the installation of Zimbra"..i know plz help me to find frnech and easy tutoriel, and tell me where i have problems
    C'est très bien et Zimbra peuvent être utilisés pour cela, mais je ne recommanderais pas autre chose que la démonstration dans cet environnement.

    Il n'y a aucune documentation spécifique en français que je suis sais, mais vous pouvez poser vos questions sur ce forum: Forum de la communauté Zimbra francophone
    Regards


    Bill


    Acompli: A new adventure for Co-Founder KevinH.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    9
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    bah , mon encadrente de stage m'as dis qu'il faut d'abord testere sur ma machine avnt de l'installer sur le serveur, je lui es déjà proposer cette idée mais elle a refusé, ils ont un serveur très bien configuré dns hosts etc etc.. mais elle ne veut pas que je l'install directement sur le server..

    En tt Cas merci bill pour vos réponse c'est très gentille, il me semble que je n'y arriverai jamais à installer ce zimbra sur mon notebook

    Merci encore bill.

  8. #8
    phoenix is offline Zimbra Consultant & Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Vannes, France
    Posts
    23,587
    Rep Power
    58

    Default

    Do you use VMware in your installation? You could always install it in a VM without problems. There is a demo of Zimbra that will give you a feel for the Web interface and some videos, have you looked at them?
    Regards


    Bill


    Acompli: A new adventure for Co-Founder KevinH.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    9
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    No mate, i will try it in Vmware work station , wan u tell me what's the best Os i can use?

  10. #10
    phoenix is offline Zimbra Consultant & Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Vannes, France
    Posts
    23,587
    Rep Power
    58

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by outmind View Post
    No mate, i will try it in Vmware work station , wan u tell me what's the best Os i can use?
    My personal preference is for CentOS 5, use the RHEL binary to install and it should be fairly straightforward.
    Regards


    Bill


    Acompli: A new adventure for Co-Founder KevinH.

Similar Threads

  1. Problems Installing Open Source Edition on Fedora 9
    By cbarthmann in forum Installation
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 08-27-2008, 08:40 PM
  2. Installing zimbra on Fedora 6
    By s10n in forum Installation
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 02-08-2008, 10:25 AM
  3. Installing Zimbra On Fedora Core 6
    By DanielGE in forum Installation
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 03-04-2007, 05:48 PM
  4. Installing Zimbra Source on Fedora
    By david75 in forum Developers
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 04-05-2006, 04:09 PM
  5. Error after installing Zimbra on Fedora 3
    By oric in forum Installation
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-20-2005, 01:51 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •