Thread: Noob on Antispam... How can i really check It's working?

Hybrid View

Default Noob on Antispam... How can i really check It's working?

Hi there.

How can i get a list of email marked as Spam (Marked by users)?

How can i modify that list, lets say remove an email from the spam list (Again, email mark by another user, not me)?

How can i get an efficiency statistic about how much emails are marked as spam by spamassasin VS how many email are marked as spam by users?

Finally, any hint's to a really good zimbra-antispam guide For noobs? (From an administration point of view, not an install guide or teoric paper.)

I'm a total noob on antispam. As far as i know, zimbra by default works with spamassasin. And also as far as i now it shoud be working (All services up and running).

I also now the logic about how it works (Score system, emails tagged as spam moves to another account, etc)

Thank you all for your time!!
    Last edited by sapoku; 09-02-2010 at 09:51 AM.

I'd start by searching the forums and looking at Improving Anti-spam system - Zimbra :: Wiki.

About your first question, you could always look in the spam account using the Admin GUI and then "View Mail". Or you could do this:

grep marked\ as\ spam /opt/zimbra/log/mailbox.log

(Optional: substitute any of the other mailbox.log* files for historical info.)

Thanks for the fast answer.
    That command worked perfect.
    About the guide, i had already read it, and it's a lot about how to add more anti spam meassures. What i'm really looking for, it's admin information about spamasasin.

A guide with tips just like the one you posted!!.
    Now.. how do i find the emails marked as spam by Spamassasin? So i can build the statistic of failure on detection.

grep SPAM /var/log/zimbra.log

Note that this will include both mails marked SPAM (which are dropped entirely) and mails marked SPAMMY (which end up in the junk folder).