Thread: quota functionality and deferred queue

Default quota functionality and deferred queue

I am going to bring this up as new, since my searches have not turned up anything as to what I am seeing.

I'm new to Zimbra - and am just testing out everything before I roll it out in live production use.

the issue:

Zimbra 6.0.7

one new user has a 25mb quota on his account.
    his account is currently at 14mb (~50%).
    the quota warning is set at 90%.

When I send an email to this user that is greater than 11mb, the message goes into "deferred queue" - because it would put him over quota. But he is NOT currently over quota.

When I send an email that is much smaller - that email will go to the user.

The user is NOT notified of a quota issue, because he is NOT currently over quota. The user does not know there is deferred mail. So the user does not know they need to clean out anything or that there is anything wrong.

(I'm sure the MB quota settings do not matter what number 25mb or 2gb, it's just a test of the logic of the quota function)

Based on the things I have discovered in searching for a solution (on the internet), I'm guessing one way is to have a scheduled task (cronjob) run, to check for each accounts' deferred messages and send an email or popup to the user (and admin too?) ?

(is this a request for feature, or bug report ?)

any ideas? am I missing something?

Default zimlet showing deferred

how hard would it be to have a display in the web client show a user's deferred messages?
    (number of messages, or the actual sender address)

Sounds right to me, the quota would be enforced to prevent a user from using more disk than the quota, so the example 11mb message would not and should not be delivered to the user.

A bounce message would be sent to the sender though, and in real usage they'd likely resend their message without the attachment informing the recipient of the problem, that's one way to notify the user.