Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: some multiple domain advise/guidance

Default some multiple domain advise/guidance

i just added a 2nd domain to my zcs install (lets say domain1.com & now domain2.com exist), & i wanted some some advise since i'm new to the multiple domains on zcs concept:

1. is there a way for users who have accounts on > 1 domain to view their accounts on 1 screen via 1 login? i suspect i could setup external accounts (although the additional accounts are not external to the zcs server), but wouldnt that double the disk space consumption since account@domain1.com would store emails for all domain1.com & domain2.com while account@domain2.com would still store the domain2 emails too?
    2. can i use a 2nd IP for domain2.com? if so, how? i didnt see option anywhere in setup.
    3. if not so, so should i add a 2nd PTR for the 1 IP i'm using for both domains? i've read both yes & no so far on this, so i wanted your opinion.
    4. all the accounts for all the domains are mixed into 1 list of accounts; is there no way to segregate or separate this in the admin UI?
    5. does the newest version of zcs have domain level admins?
    6. where do i change the default domain (so that users can login w/ just their account name for domain2.com vs domain1.com)?
    7. how do you share GALs amongst the domains?
    8. should i instead run the 2 domains as separate zcs installs on 2 virtualized instances, so that i can use different IPs for ea domain? looking for pros/cons of this.
    9. the last & most important bullet: thank you!

is there a way for users who have accounts on > 1 domain to view their accounts on 1 screen via 1 login?

Not that I'm aware of. What I'd do, is give the end users an alias for the 2nd domain and setup a filter that moves email to a sub folder off of their INBOX.

can i use a 2nd IP for domain2.com? if so, how?
    Probably, but I've never done it. Search the forums.