Thread: Calendar Use Case

Hybrid View

Default Calendar Use Case

Hello, I'm new to Zimbra so please bear with me. I'm running a test domain with Zimbra Open Source and soon to be evaluating Zimbra Network Edition (due to needs for Outlook integration).

Some quick comments before my question.
    So far we are liking Zimbra, it is relatively easy to deploy and use. Plus it seems like the community and developers here are committed to moving the project forward.

My use case is as follows, I hope someone can help me understand how to do this in Zimbra. We have clients that need to be able to self-schedule interviews with our employees. We would like to put up a calendar that would have available slots to interview in to which clients could claim.

I've tried this out and can get something that "works", however it gives an excess of permissions to the clients allowing them to potentially cause havoc.

One is to share a calendar with clients setting them as Managers. Slots are set up by the calendar scheduler with themselves added as a "fake" attendee to all the events. Clients claim an event by adding themselves as attendee's and by potentially editing the title to "Claimed". Problem is that this gives clients unlimited power over the calendar allowing them to delete slots, add bogus slots, and reclaim slots from other people.