Thread: Help with unusual configuration

Default Help with unusual configuration

Noob here.

I've read tons of posts and documentation, but can't wrap my head around this.

Here's the current scenario:
    * small office, half dozen of users (mailboxes)
    * domain is acmecompany.net
    * mail (+ website +DNS) is hosted at ISP (domain: acmecompany.net, can access as pop3.acmecompany.net and smtp.acmecompany.net)
    * PCs currently using Outlook / Thunderbird, POP3 (no IMAP)

Here's what I would need:
    1) IMAP
    2) Mail archive
    3) Any remote user/roadrunner shall access mail via Zimbra Desktop and VPN
    4) Zimbra server installed inside the LAN, no exposure to the internet
    5) Incoming mail shall be received by hosted mailserver (Zimbra shall poll mailboxes via fetchmail)
    6) Outgoing mail shall be routed through hosted mailserver
    7) Outgoing mail shall be stripped of any reference of intermediate hops (Zimbra server, public IP of DSL line), possibly appearing as if it was sent directly from ISP's mailserver
    8) Local users shall retain their usual email addresses (user@acmecompany.net), without need to change to something like user@local.acmecompany.net, user@zimbra.acmecompany.net etc.
    9) Mail between local users should be handled internally by Zimbra server (=not going out to the hosted mail server, then come back in)

1) is obvious, 2) and 3) I know how to handle. I included them in the list so as to give a better idea of the final environment.

4) I know Zimbra is designed to be directly exposed on the internet. But I really want to keep the hosted ISP mail server in the loop. I know this will complicate things, but on the other hand ISP deals with spam, I don't need to bother with DNS records & firewalling while I can use any means to connect to the internet (multiple DSLs and/or cellular backup), I will never have to bother with Spamhaus blacklisting because some moron caught a virus and starts sending spam through our DSL line.