Thread: Need SMTPS to save to Sent folder

Default Need SMTPS to save to Sent folder

We have some users who run a program that "works great with Gmail" but doesn't seem to do what they want with Zimbra. All it does is compose an email and uses SMTPS to send it out. When working through Gmail, the outbound message gets saved in the user's "Sent Mail" folder, but when we point it to our Zimbra server the mail flows just fine, but there is no copy left in the "Sent" folder. And these users want a history of what's been sent.

As I understand it, the Sent folder is usually managed by IMAP in a typical mail client and that SMTPS handles the actual message sending. I don't have any client side tools work with because it's all embedded into the app and the only settings we have are SMTPS username, server and password.

The only thing I could think of is to create a postfix rule that works only on a single address to automatically CC a message, but I have no experience doing that sort of thing. Might there be some other way to make this work?

Thanks,

Cedric

How about an outbound filter on the account (Preferences->Filters->Outgoing Message Filters?) I haven't tried it, but I think this works for messages sent via SMTP as well (as long as its authenticating for the account).
    ---
    Paul Chauvet
    State University of New York at New Paltz

Tried that. Doesn't seem to work.

First which programm do you use, you never mentioned it so its a bit hard to reproduce
    second - the sent mail isnt handled by smtps at all as you guessed right its an imap / mailclient only fiunction

many 3rd party mailclients save their sent mails in different folders, often you can overide this folder by an setting in the mailclient

at the end its a mailclient thing not a zimbra thing

Quote Originally Posted by bofh View Post
    First which programm do you use, you never mentioned it so its a bit hard to reproduce