Thread: Zimbra as a smtp relay for a domain

Hybrid View

Default Zimbra as a smtp relay for a domain

Hi everyone,
    First I would like to apologize if this is not the correct section. I am a newbie in Zimbra. Here is what I am looking for:
    I have a domain let say test.com. I have installed Zimbra server in the local office. The Zimbra is NATed to an external IP with hostname mail.test.com. I want to authenticate my domain with zimbra server, in other words to use zimbra as a SMTP relay, but to be open only for incomming mails from test.com.
    First I know that I have to add MX record for host - mail.test.com in the DNS where is the domain. I want to use it only for relayed e-mails from test.com
    The other strange thing I noticed is that I have tested server on its IP. Telnet to port 25 is ok, but when try to send mail via console all the mails are "Relay access denied" ?

This is my first mail server installation and I am sorry if the questions are stupid.
    Any help is highly appreciated.
    Thanks in advance

phoenix is offline Zimbra Consultant & Moderator

Quote Originally Posted by Todor View Post
    First I would like to apologize if this is not the correct section. I am a newbie in Zimbra. Here is what I am looking for:
    I have a domain let say test.com. I have installed Zimbra server in the local office. The Zimbra is NATed to an external IP with hostname mail.test.com. I want to authenticate my domain with zimbra server, in other words to use zimbra as a SMTP relay, but to be open only for incomming mails from test.com.
    I'm not really sure I understand what you mean by 'open', a relay or just to get mail delivered to the server?

First I know that I have to add MX record for host - mail.test.com in the DNS where is the domain. I want to use it only for relayed e-mails from test.com
    I'm not sure I understand this either, perhaps it's related to my answer above?