Thread: What I want for Christmas

Default Sharing GAL, Scheduling between local domains; User Admin Interface

I'm fairly new to Zimbra and could use some help accomplishing some setup features. I've searched the forums and wiki, but was not able to find how to accomplish these things so I'm posting in hopes I can be pointed in a direction, or if these are worthy get them on a development list. Or email me if you have a zimlet or custom code to help out.

First, my config. Zimbra 4.02. Single server. 4 domains. Out in the wild (not nat'd).

I'd like very much for each domain to see and share one GAL. We're all the same company. How do we do this?

The same is true of the calendars and scheduling features. We'd love to be able to see if (eg) Rick in Detroit can get on the conference call. How do we do this?

We're 20 something offices. I have a job, and it doesn't include email admin. I need to be able to segment user management to each office, and to each division. They need to set up users, reset passwords, and remove users all on their own. How can we do this?

Regards... Jim
    Last edited by alivebyscience; 10-16-2006 at 09:14 AM. Reason: Change title to something more search friendly

GAL and free/busy today is per domain. One idea would be to create all the user's on a single domain (mycorp.com). This will be used for calendar, free/busy, and GAL. You then can give an alias for those on the each of their external facing domains. Assuming most live on one domain already you can make this the primary domain, otherwise you can create a new domain just for this purpose. Other solutions could be to set up a separate LDAP for the GAL which has all the user's email addresses.
    Looking for new beta users -> Co-Founder of Acompli. Previously worked at Zimbra (and Yahoo! & VMware) since 2005.