Thread: MySQL structure

Hybrid View

Default MySQL structure

I am new to Zimbra. I am having trouble finding documentation on the structure of the MySQL database, particularly the contacts. Can anyone point me in the right directions?
    Last edited by binnacle; 12-18-2006 at 04:37 PM.

Default Please use the APIs

Please don't operate directly on the database. The system expects that the database won't change out from under it, and if you do make such changes it can get out of sync with bad results. If your changes aren't well-formed, the web UI won't even run.

You can import and create contacts using the SOAP and REST APIs. Please use them.

(The contact contents are stored in BEncoded format in the database's METADATA column.)
    Bugzilla - Wiki - Downloads - Before posting... Search!

I was not expecting to change it, but I would like to know the structure.
    Last edited by binnacle; 12-18-2006 at 03:47 PM.

Default Curiouser and curiouser...

Um... why? You can get at the data as XML via SOAP and as VCF and CSV via REST, so what's the point in accessing the database directly?

Anyways, if you're determined to go this route, to get the fields of the contact:
    1. apply the BDecoding algorithm to the METADATA column of the contact's database row
    2. the METADATA should decode to a "directory"
    3. the value of the "fld" attribute is the key/value "directory" holding the contact's fields as strings

Note that values are stored in the database as UTF-8 and Zimbra's BEncoding implementation handles strings containing multibyte characters by assuming that the BEncoded string has been decoded from UTF-8 before the character counts on string values are considered.

Default Further on...

Thank you for hanging with me on this.