Thread: Zimbra client with another server

Talking Zimbra client with another server

Hello everyone,

I'm a newbie, so pls excuse any silly questions - I'm hoping your collective wisdom will guide me to enlightenment

I'm looking into having the Zimbra client talk to a different collaboration server.

Having read some of the Zimbra docs I know that the client and server connection is through a well-defined SOAP interface. (Btw, JSON was mentioned also, and I wondered about that..)

So here are my newbie questions:

1) Is there any doc that outlines the set of steps required for re-targeting the Zimbra client to a different server. Such as what code & config needs to be changed and how. If not, what would be a good starting point for me. I've looked into some of the client code but not all of it.. Our server can speak soap / web services and it can be tweaked to match Zimbra client.

2) Curious to know if anyone successfully done this before? If so what was the effort involved? I.e., was it a 2-week project, a 2 month project or a 2 year project ? :-)

Any input will be much appreciated!

Thanks in advance,

- JB

Default soap.txt

It's not an easy row to hoe, as you're going to need to make your server handle all the SOAP requests and responses that the Zimbra server does. You can check out soap.txt in our subversion repository to get a feel for the magnitude of the project.

Your server will also need to be able to parse XML requests and send back JSON responses, as that's what the Zimbra client currently expects.

And you should note that you may not rebrand the AJAX client. The "Zimbra" logo stays where it is and cannot be hidden in any way. That's just the terms of the license.
    Bugzilla - Wiki - Downloads - Before posting... Search!

Quote Originally Posted by JayBee View Post
    Hello everyone,

I'm a newbie, so pls excuse any silly questions - I'm hoping your collective wisdom will guide me to enlightenment