Thread: How to import a .pst file into a Mac OSX Zimbra Desktop Client

Default How to import a .pst file into a Mac OSX Zimbra Desktop Client

I am using only the free desktop client from Zimbra (love it). I have migrated from Windows to Mac OS X Leopard and want to move my Microsoft Outlook 2007 .pst file into Zimbra on my Mac. I do not nor have I ever used Outlook with Exchange, just for multiple email accounts. I have a boat load of contacts, calendar schedules, tasks, and to do stuff in Outlook. I currently run Parallels just for this and would love to just use Zimbra. I'm new at this, so detailed instructions would be a real help. Thanks in advance to anyone who can help.

First off, welcome to the forums!

For Zimbra Desktop to work, it has to pull information from a server, be that Zimbra Collaboration Suite (ZCS), Gmail, Yahoo, or an IMAP server. So, to get your information into Zimbra Desktop, you have to have an account on a ZCS server for the desktop client to sync from (assuming you want Calendar, contacts, and Tasks along with your e-mail). At that point, importing a .pst into a Zimbra server account is fairly painless (using NE).

Does that make sense?

Thanks,
    Dusty
    Last edited by dustys; 07-25-2008 at 09:44 AM.
    CoSentry - www.cosentry.com - Co-Location & Business Resiliency Solutions

Default I'using Zimba with my gmail accounts...

Yes, Sorry, I should have mentioned that I am "testing" Zimba with my gmail account but have a ton of other important business stuff in Outlook. Yes, I could copy and paste - would take days or longer to do this. I was just wondering if I could import the .pst file into Zimba desktop client on my Mac and use it with my gamil account and other business stuff.

Thnx

Just to clarify, there is both a server side and client side application for Zimbra to work appropriately with all PIM information. But, I think there 'may' be a work around...