Thread: Lost Everything after Upgrade to 7.1.4

Angry Lost Everything after Upgrade to 7.1.4

I had Z-desktop working well and got a notice of upgrade. After running the upgrade, I lost my contacts, documents, and briefcase items. Can these be restored?

Thumbs down You should not roll out this 7.1.4 release!

zdesktop was running fine, however auto-update informed me about a newer release which I should urgently install.
    So I started auto-update.
    The installation failed.

So I downloaded the tgz and started the installation manually as root.
    It went fine.
    I started the user-script as user.
    It went fine, however -still- complained about not being able to create the program icon.

I started zdesktop.
    FINE!
    HOWEVER - All DATA is GONE!!!

No information during installation that all existing user content will be deleted!!!

YOU ARE ABSOLUTE BEGINNERS TO ROLL OUT SUCH CRAP!!!

Luckily I did a backup before - so I reinstalled 7.1.2 and copied the zdesktop folder from my backup.

Where is your howto for manually updating zdesktop if auto-update is not working?
    Where is the hint of how to avoid loosing all data?

Zdesktop itself is not too bad as a program but this installation bug is not
    acceptable!

Edit 1:

cat /etc/lsb-release
    DISTRIB_ID=Ubuntu
    DISTRIB_RELEASE=11.10
    DISTRIB_CODENAME=oneiric
    DISTRIB_DESCRIPTION="Ubuntu 11.10"

md5sum zdesktop_7_1_4_ga_b11273_linux_i686.tgz
    76ad0c6ea4af706d033030c5820eab61 zdesktop_7_1_4_ga_b11273_linux_i686.tgz

upgrading from
    md5sum zdesktop_7_1_2_ga_b10978_linux_i686.tgz
    2add86bf0469e9e0b3f1e66d2507e064 zdesktop_7_1_2_ga_b10978_linux_i686.tgz

Edit 2:
    I got an email notification about an answer from phoenix, however it is not displayed in this thread:

phoenix replied to a thread you have subscribed to entitled "Lost Everything after Upgrade to 7.1.4" in the General Questions section of Zimbra :: Forums.

---Quote (Originally by wwwolf)---