Once an account goes online, are the user name and password transmitted every time the mail is synced? While setting up all of my e-mail accounts "in one basket", it occurred that might not be wise, especially if the information is sent out repeatedly.

One aspect of web based e-mail I appreciate is the feeling that once a connection is established it remains until deliberately signing off. Also the push notification alerts to new e-mail sooner. Zimbra Desktop also gives the impression of once online remaining connected, but then began to wonder what occurs under the covers at the sync interval.

Rich

PS/Before posting found a thread related to "plain text" passwords transmitted, however did not find the specific answer to the frequency or a client side log.