Thread: Unable to add Gmail account

Question Unable to add Gmail account

Hi all. I'm a newbie and have not been able to add my Gmail acct to Zimbra. It looks like the issue is that Gmail blocks access by less secure devices (in this case Zimbra).
    Is the only way to add Gmail to Zimbra, is to allow my Gmail account to become less secure by disabling the app access block?
    Is Zimbra not secure in how they connect to our other email accounts?

Gmail's info: "Allowing less secure apps to access your account. Google may block sign in attempts from some apps or devices that do not use modern security standards. Since these apps and devices are easier to break into, blocking them helps keep your account safer.
    Some examples of apps that do not support the latest security standards include:
    The Mail app on your iPhone or iPad with iOS 6 or below
    The Mail app on your Windows phone preceding the 8.1 release
    Some Desktop mail clients like Microsoft Outlook and Mozilla Thunderbird

To help keep your account secure, we may block these less secure apps from accessing your account, and you’ll see a “Password incorrect” error when trying to sign in. If this is the case, you have two options:
    Upgrade to a more secure app that uses the most up to date security measures. All Google products, like Gmail, use the latest security measures.
    Go to Allow less secure apps and choose “Allow” to let less secure apps access your Google account. We don't recommend this option because it may make it easier for someone to gain access to your account. "

Another question I have is: once an acct is added to Zimbra, is there any reason that I should not delete all of my email from the yahoo mail server and just keep everything in Zimbra, in folders with sync turned off?