Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: [SOLVED] [ZD 2.0 Beta Linux ] Installation on F12

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    92
    Rep Power
    6

    Default [SOLVED] [ZD 2.0 Beta Linux ] Installation on F12

    Permissions are set to executable for the user.

    Won't run from gnome and when I run from the terminal it quits after asking to confirm the location of the installation.

    Any ideas?

    Solved:

    See post for solution

    http://www.zimbra.com/forums/install...dora-13-a.html
    Last edited by nyjetshead; 05-18-2010 at 06:45 AM. Reason: Solved

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    830
    Rep Power
    8

    Default

    how did you run from terminal? (what command...)

    Quote Originally Posted by nyjetshead View Post
    Permissions are set to executable for the user.

    Won't run from gnome and when I run from the terminal it quits after asking to confirm the location of the installation.

    Any ideas?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    92
    Rep Power
    6

    Default

    When I clicked on the install program gnome gives me an option to run in the terminal window.
    BTW That is the only way it will run.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    92
    Rep Power
    6

    Default Need to have a howto for linux install

    A bit of a rant here...

    Code:
    /.install.pl
    Or
    Code:
    perl install.pl
    Get's it done at the command line.

    There needs to be detailed directions posted on the WiKi

    It still fails trying to install to a directory that its doesn't have rights to create.

    Code:
    Installing application files...mkdir: cannot create directory `/opt/zimbra': Permission denied

    I'd change the location but I have no idea if that is going to be the correct way to install it. And I hesitate doing so as I don't want it screwing up my system.

    Version 1 installed in the users home directory.

    Why don't you guys release this packaged? IE RPM, DEB etc.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    830
    Rep Power
    8

    Default

    sorry, i am still not sure how you ran the installer.

    zd beta 1 installation package is a .tgz file. you are supposed to uncompress it and run a script called "install.pl" from terminal.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    92
    Rep Power
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jmhe View Post
    sorry, i am still not sure how you ran the installer.

    zd beta 1 installation package is a .tgz file. you are supposed to uncompress it and run a script called "install.pl" from terminal.
    If I try to run directly from the command line i get an error

    Code:
    test@laptop zdesktop_2_0_beta1_b10343_linux_i686]$ install.pl
    bash: install.pl: command not found
    If I run from gnome through run with the terminal option it goes this far:

    Welcome to Zimbra Desktop setup wizard. This will install Zimbra Desktop on you computer.
    ------------------------------
    Press enter to continue:


    PLEASE READ THIS AGREEMENT CAREFULLY BEFORE USING THE SOFTWARE. VMWARE INC. WILL ONLY LICENSE THIS SOFTWARE TO YOU IF YOU FIRST ACCEPT THE TERMS OF THIS AGREEMENT. BY DOWNLOADING OR INSTALLING THE SOFTWARE, OR USING THE PRODUCT, YOU ARE CONSENTING TO BE BOUND BY THIS AGREEMENT. IF YOU DO NOT AGREE TO ALL OF THE TERMS OF THIS AGREEMENT, THEN DO NOT DOWNLOAD, INSTALL OR USE THE PRODUCT.

    License Terms for this Zimbra Collaboration Suite Software: Zimbra - Zimbra Public End-User License Agreement, Version 2.3

    ------------------------------
    (A)ccept or (D)ecline [A]: a


    ------------------------------
    Choose the folder where you would like to install Zimbra Desktop's application files [/opt/zimbra/zdesktop]:
    Last edited by nyjetshead; 03-11-2010 at 03:15 PM. Reason: More detail

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    830
    Rep Power
    8

    Default

    You are right that we need to update the wiki about the exact steps for installing on Linux.

    Since on most systems "/opt" is owned by root, to install it at default location, the right steps are:

    1) sudo <uncompressed path>/install.pl

    2) type 'N' when asked whether to install for user "root"

    3) run "/opt/zimbra/zdesktop/linux/user-install.pl" as regular user

    if you install both "program files" and "user data files" under user home (e.g. ~/zdesktop/app, ~/zdesktop/data respectively), you don't have run install.pl as root.

    By the way, a DEB package is on the roadmap.

    Thanks for the input.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    92
    Rep Power
    6

    Default Error when launching desktop

    Thanks for the clarification.

    I followed the process as promoted and installed as a user without incident.

    I received the following error when I click on the desktop icon and also when I try to execute the command directly from the command line.

    I checked to see if the file exists,and it does.

    screenshot attached.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by nyjetshead; 03-12-2010 at 05:12 AM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    830
    Rep Power
    8

    Default

    sounds like a permission issue. make sure user has "read" and "execute" permisson along the whole path.

    Quote Originally Posted by nyjetshead View Post
    Thanks for the clarification.

    I followed the process as promoted and installed as a user without incident.

    I received the following error when I click on the desktop icon and also when I try to execute the command directly from the command line.

    I checked to see if the file exists,and it does.

    screenshot attached.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    92
    Rep Power
    6

    Default

    Everything looks good permission wise to me.
    I installed using sudo and them created the user as instructed logged in as user.

    It shouldn't take an easter egg hunt to get it working.


    Edit: Well I think I know what the issue is... I'm running X64 version of F12
    Also updated the Title of the first post to reflect X64
    Last edited by nyjetshead; 03-14-2010 at 07:31 AM. Reason: Additional info

Similar Threads

  1. Zimbra Desktop 2.0 Beta 1 Sync Failure
    By thomaspatko in forum Error Reports
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-02-2010, 07:50 AM
  2. Is Zdesktop 2.0 Beta aailable for download ?
    By Aderium in forum General Questions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-09-2010, 10:49 AM
  3. Installation Issues - SLES 10_Zimbra 5.0 Beta 3
    By rhartman in forum Installation
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-14-2008, 06:18 AM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-29-2007, 05:35 AM
  5. Antivirus suddenly stop
    By kowell in forum Administrators
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 03-27-2007, 04:05 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •