Thread: Zimbra domain question

Default Zimbra domain question

Hi,

I am a newbie to Zimbra. So this question might sound a little silly, but I thought I would ask anyway.

When I installed my zimbra server, it created a domain in ldap called like mailserv01.example.com. Is that the correct way of doing things? Because once I start creating email accounts, I would expect them to be firstname.lastname@example.com, not firstname.lastname@mailserv01.example.com.

What is the best way forward here? Thank you.

Martin

So you have 2 choices:

Domain aliases would be a fast solution if you don't care what the underlying accounts are named: ManagingDomains - Zimbra :: Wiki

Though personally I would:
    Admin console gui > domains > make a new domain
    same as:
    Code:
    su zimbra
    zmprov cd domain.com zimbraAuthMech zimbra
    For a moment leave the old domain intact.
    Also leave the admin, spam, ham, and the wiki account untouched right now.

To move any accounts you've already created over:
    In the admin console gui you can just change the drop down box in the individual account > general tab to the other domain (just to the right of where you assign a username).

zmprov equilavent would be ra (renameAccount)
    Then you need to set that domain as default so users don't have to type in the complete 'user@domain.com' to login they can just type 'user':
    Code:
       zmprov mcf zimbraDefaultDomainName domain.com
    See this article if you need to script for a large number of users Bulk Provisioning - Zimbra :: Wiki

Note: As of 5.0beta2/3 there's a command to rename the entire domain:
    Code:
    zmprov -l renameDomain (or 'rd' for short) domain.com newDomain.com
    When you've done all that & mail send/receive works fine, let us know - and I'll explain actions on those 4 special accounts.
    Last edited by mmorse; 08-04-2009 at 09:06 AM.

Hi mmorse,