Thread: Zimbra as a Secondary Mail Server

Default Zimbra as a Secondary Mail Server

Hi - I'm new to Zimbra, but have been eying it as a candidate to provide our small business with some great collaboration abilities. I'd like to leave our current mail server and mx record as is (because it is hosted and reliable), but I'd like to host a Zimbra server locally and pull mail from the 'primary' mail server into Zimbra for local distribution. I would plan for all employees to use Zimbra the vast majority of the time, but still have our 'primary' mail server in place in case the Zimbra server crashes or we lose Internet connectivity or other unforeseen issues.

I've searched the forums and Googled this, but have not found definitive information. The business I used to work for used Windows Small Business with Exchange and a pop3 connector to do essentially what I would like to do.

It appears that I could accomplish similar using fetchmail, but I am not a linux expert. Can anyone confirm that what I am trying to do is possible, and if it is, are there any good tutorials for this specifically or how to use fetchmail?

Thanks in advance,

Josh
    Last edited by urtlking2jo; 12-08-2007 at 08:16 PM.

Welcome to the forums,
    Search fetchmail and webmin - here's one: http://www.zimbra.com/forums/adminis...gregation.html
    Alternatively you might just use your old box as a backup mx; put the zimbra mx record with a lower priority number, and the old solution you setup as just a queue to hold mail. -you could even use another zimbra mta to do it
    If your not migrating all at once/in one sitting, use a Split Domain - Zimbra :: Wiki