Thread: Total calendar noob has questions ...

Default Total calendar noob has questions ...

My apologies and thanks right up front - did some searching but could not find a post or info for my situation.

First off I'm very technical (making the mid-life career move from HW design to local IT support in a school system -- much less stress) but I'm still building my skills in networking etc. I have built many Linux boxes and a few servers. So once I can get the basic info / process down I can build on that in most technical areas. So hopefully with some guidance / pointers I can get this off the ground. But I am a total noob at group calendaring.

The environment is a large high school where I provide local IT support - we need a cheap ( i.e. open source) calendaring solution for about 40 staff members that would provide roughly the same level of functionality as MS Outlook. It only needs to be a local solution - not published to the world. And we're a mixed XP - OS X environment.

I can dedicate a P4 server to this so that is not an issue - the main issue for me is not wasting time on the wrong solution or chasing my tail. I'm already stretched thin so I need a well integrated snap together solution.

So I found this link in the Zimbra Wiki which looks very do-able and looks like it provides a local Web based solution.
    Ubuntu 6.06 Server (Dapper Drake) Beginner's Install Guide - Zimbra :: Wiki

However I would also like to find a similar guide for the client based solution as that way some of our admin staff could see their calendars while off-line.
    Does such a guide exist ?

I know I'm asking a lot here and I'm thankful for any guidance I can get

I'm far from a calendar expert (or Zimbra expert for that matter), but I'll give you a little info since it seems a bit quiet on the forums today (probably due to the upcoming holidays.)