Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Turnkey Zimbra installation

Default Turnkey Zimbra installation

Hello,

I'm new to Zimbra, but I have a few years of experience running Unix systems. I'm pretty proficient with computers, was sysadmin for a few years as secondary duties, so I can understand DNS, SMTP, HTTP, etc, the buz words (most of them). But I'm no expert. I'm looking for a simple way ton install Zimbra on a home server.

I've downloaded and installed Turnkey Zimbra on an old PC. It runs on Ubuntu 8.04. It installed rather easily and did not really give me any serious error messages.

I ran the zimbra-conf script, as described on the turnkey website:
    Zimbra Appliance | TurnKey Linux Virtual Appliance Library

I have a fixed IP from my Internet Service Provider (ISP), it's pointing towards the machine name with a fully qualified DNS hostname.

I have a firewall wireless box and I've openned a lot of ports on the firewall (or rather point them towards the server and use NAT, Network Address Translation, to access it from outside of my LAN).

I have succeeded in connecting for the Zimbra server via the www, but not the administration web interface. It locks on me. I had to add users using the zmprov command with a putty telnet-ssh connection.

I also have trouble connecting via Zimbra desktop to my server from outside of my LAN (I have not yet tried from inside my LAN, I installed this morning and I'm at work now!). It gives me the following error:
    "http://mail.ingenieur.org/service/soap/" host not found. Please check hostname and network connectivity.
    I'm wondering if I have a service to activate on the server... or if I forgot to open a port on my firewall...

On the premise that it's operational, you'll not have to "activate" external access on the zimbra server, it'll be listening on ports 80 and 443 by default.
    You will need to add a port forward on your firewall/router for it though.