Thread: Two zimbra server syncing with each other.

Talking Two zimbra server syncing with each other.

Hi,

Were running ZCS 6.04 Open source for two years now on Ubuntu 8.04 guest in Win2k3 host (both 32bit). Its a single server install.

Our zimbra server uses a public IP and is also the single mx in our domain. I would like to setup two mx for failover in case one of the two ISP's were using suddenly cuts-off or a server fails.

I would like the two zcs server to have the same message content. That is either one of them is updating one another with the latest email received/delivered.

Is it possible? How can I do this? I'm not good at scripts but I can follow directions.

Thanks

Reading from the comments, this has been going since Franklin. We started using ZCS during 5.0 up to 6.04 at the present.

Were just too hasty to drop Domino for Zimbra two years ago due to flooding spam and drastic cost cuting. Geez, maybe we should consider going back to domino next year if this does not come up in Zimbra 7.

DRBD+Heartbeat and two zimbra server...hmm..must give it a shot.

Thanks for the info.

If network latency/bandwidth between the two servers aren't issues, then I agree DRBD is probably the best way to get real-time syncing. But an alternative might be imapsync--for email, at least. Here are a couple related links; you might find more if you search the forums:

http://www.zimbra.com/forums/adminis...p-machine.html
    Scripts to sync to a remote Zimbra backup machine - Zimbra :: Wiki

Thanks for all the info.

Our zimbra users are increasing from 50 to 90+. I think its time have a working standby server.

After reading the topic you refer to me, I 've got the following questions:

1. Can I install imapsync on a different box and use it to sync two zimbra servers?