Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Configure External Mail

Exclamation Configure External Mail

Hello,

I have successfully installed ZCS on Ubuntu and I can send and receive emails from and to internal accounts.

Now I want to know that what configuration do I need to setup to send and receive emails from external email accounts like gmail, hotmail, yahoo or ISP email addresses?

Also I would like to know that how can I limit the quota for the accounts?

Please help me as I am new to Zimbra but I loved it once I got is running.

Thanks

RizKhan

1. If you want to send and receive emails from external mail servers you must configure correctly DNS and choose "Enable DNS lookup" in admin console : Global Settings --> MTA --> Enable DNS lookup.
    2. If you want to limit the quota for the account, in the admin console, when you create a new account, you can specify the quota for the user or if you want apply that quota for multi users in your system please let using COS setting.

Hi dalmate,

Thanks for your reply dear. I found quota and Enable DNS lookup options but I am unable to understand that what settings do I require in my dns? Do I have to add every website one by one in my dns?

Also I have an email account provided by local ISP. I want to configure that email in zimbra for receiving the emails and when there is a new email in that account, it populates that email to all accounts configured in Zimbra.

Thanks
    RizKhan

phoenix is offline Zimbra Consultant & Moderator

Quote Originally Posted by RizKhan View Post
    Thanks for your reply dear. I found quota and Enable DNS lookup options but I am unable to understand that what settings do I require in my dns? Do I have to add every website one by one in my dns?
    Zimbra will do a DNS lookup for mail delivery, you don't have to put anything in 'your DNS'.