Thread: Getting Frustrated

Default Getting Frustrated

Ok. I am new to Zimbra. I have spent 3 days getting nowhere so far. I think Zimbra will be a good system to use, but so far I am running into brick walls.
    Most of it I am sure is me not understanding some things.
    I started by installing Zimbra Network trial on FC5 when the sales rep said that all I had to do was talk to support to get that working. It did not work that way.
    (By the way - it does not work)
    I have Open Source installed now. The errors I get during install are MX record error (I am behind a NAT firewall) I don't seem to understand how to get around this error.
    I also got a "Initializing Documents ... failed..." error.

I try to log into admin account from web interface and it says "username password incorrect".
    I tried the zmprov commands given and get the error "zmprov is used for provisioning. Try: (list)"

Every zmprov command I try gives the same result.

We were ready to purchase the network edition of Zimbra but now I am having second thoughts. I want to give it a fair try so any help that I can get to overcome my own lack of understanding will be greatly appreciated.

phoenix is offline Zimbra Consultant & Moderator

First of all FC5 is not a supported platform for the Network Edition of Zimbra - there are no builds of NE for that O/S.

If you want to try the NE version then I'd suggest getting RHEL4 or SLES9, if you don't want to get a subscription to either of those then try CentOS 4. I would suggest going for the NE trial rather than the OSS version.

the problem you're having with the MX record can be easily resolved by installing a local DNS server and setting up your records on that. If the server is getting mail from the internet and you have a domain name hosted outside then you need a split-DNS setup. These topics have been covered many times in the forums and the wiki.