Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Zimbra not getting all messages from external POP3

Default Zimbra not getting all messages from external POP3

Hi guys,

I've been using Gmail for around 8 months, and now I switched to Zimbra. I set it to get POP3 from Gmail, everything works fine, except that it does not load all mails from Gmail. I have around 4000 mails in Gmail and Zimbra got around 1700. Right now it is getting new mails and works fine, but what about that old mails ? I don't know if it is fetchmail configuraton or it is Zimbra.

Thanks,
    Nosiath

phoenix is offline Zimbra Consultant & Moderator

Welcome to the forums.

Zimbra should get all the mail in the box as far as I know. You have to hit the 'get mail' button for Zimbra to collect the mail, it doesn't do it automatically at the moment. Are there any errors in the zimbra log?
    Regards

Bill

Acompli: A new adventure for Co-Founder KevinH.

Hi Phoenix,

Thanks for your response. I think it was a setting in Gmail because I keep pressing Get Mail. I am now downloading again, let's see what happens. About the Get Mail button, is there anyway to set a cronjob and do this ? Maybe that could be a temporary fix ? Sorry if the question might be noob but I am new to linux

There's no method using the Zimbra pop aggregation to download mail on a schedule, there's a bugzilla entry for that enhancement. However, if you want to get your mail on a schedule I'd suggest using fetchmail. Is it only for you and/or a limited number of users? Using fetchmail means you have to enter the passwords for the remote mailboxes.
    Regards

Bill

Additional question : are your 4000 messages in the gmail inbox or in (sub)folders ?
    POP3 (and it's not about Zimbra's implementation) can not fetch messages that are in (sub)folders.

Thanks guys