Thread: Same issue, with a twist

Default Same issue, with a twist

I am new to Zimbra, and worse yet, new to Linux, and have been trying to solve an issue for serveral days now. While I've been searching forums and have encountered many similar issues, I have found none that exactly represent mine, nor have I been able to solve it, so hope someone with more experiance can help me.
    Did a clean install of Centos 4.4
    Running Windows2003 DNS
    Created MX record with mail.xxx.com
    Created a Host record where mail.xxx.com points to the (private)IP of the Zimbra box
    Natted port 25 and 110 to (private)IP of zimbra box
    Did a clean install of Zimbra 4.5
    Zimbra fails to find an MX record for mail.xxx.com
    Continued install (after trying to fix and being unable)
    Zimbra runs perfectly, and I can send internal mail no problem...
    I can receive mail from third party services (ie...hotmail, gmail, etc)
    When I attempt to send, mail is deferred, with an error of "no route to host", or "connection timed out".
    I would greatly appreciate any help I can get. I am under alot of pressure to have this up and running soon. I'm pretty thrilled about it too...It looks awsome! Thanks in advance

Quote Originally Posted by responding View Post
    Zimbra fails to find an MX record for mail.xxx.com
    Let's try one thing at a time

You need to make sure that first in the DNS search order is your AD box.

-john

Thank you again. I'll gladly do whatever it takes. When I did the install of Centos 4.4, I pointed the dns servers as follows:
    192.xxx.xxx.10 (Primary DNS)
    192.xxx.xxx.13 (Backup DNS)
    192.xxx.xxx.254 (PFSense Firewall/Router, which forwards to ISP's DNS)