I was under the gun to upgrade from 4.0.5 to 4.5.1 today and being a complete newbie at zimbra I looked for upgrade and backup information. I found plenty on backup but very little with upgrade. Everything I read just mentioned making a full backup and then upgrade.
So I did. When I went in as admin to look at the backups I did not see the backup I made under 4.0.5. It was there before I upgraded to 4.5.1.

Is this what is supposed to happen? If so someone needs to put in some bold/highlighted text that WARNS people that backups in this directory will be deleted during an upgrade. Don't anyone say its 'bloody obvious that it would be deleted' because it ain't.

I would expect to be warned of what would be deleted and what would not.