Thread: Zimbra or Zimbra Desktop as an Outlook/Entourage Replacement?

Hybrid View

Default Zimbra or Zimbra Desktop as an Outlook/Entourage Replacement?

Ok,
    I've googled for nearly an hour to get the info I'm looking for, so now I'm asking here for advice.

I've been looking into using Zimbra or Zimbra Desktop as a Calendaring/eMailing/Contacts replacement to OUtlook or Entourage, or, for that matter, the separate Mail, iCal, and Address Book apps which come with Mac OS X (I dislike having the functionality in separate apps).

Really not wanting to use MS Office (no deep political reasons, I'm just happy with Open Office/NeoOffice and try to go openb source whenever it's available and efficient), I have been looking into Zimbra.

Formerly, I was using SugarCRM, a PHP-based CRM, and found it worked pretty decently, but Zimbra is simply MUCH more robust and offers iSync integration.

-However, as a JSP developer, I already have instances of Tomcat and MySQL installed and running on my little G4 iBook, and am wondering if installing separate instances would bog things down.
    I didn't have this issue with Sugar, as it comes as a thin install and you configure everything to run on your preinstalled RDBMS.

If nothing else, I had considered installing the Zimbra server on my workstation at home, then the desktop version on my laptop (though I'm sure it also installs its own Tomcat and MySQL... but maybe a leaner install?). Also, as it's a web app, I could probably even access it from an iPhone via Safari, which would, for lack of more eloquent terms, rock my socks off.

This would also serve as beta-testing, as I work as a web and network administrator and the business is always looking for ways to 1:save money, and 2:stick it to the man (I work for aging hippies), and the current open source options for just about everything are pretty amazing these days.

Thanks in advance