Thread: [SOLVED] Domain rejects

Default [SOLVED] Domain rejects

Ok, I have a lot of experience with sendmail, but the postfix/zimbra mta is all new to me. We have a mailfoundry appliance, and I've disabled anti-spam/anti-virus on the zimbra service (for load reasons). The mailfoundry auto-learns what domain to forward to smtp destination IP's that I specify for it, this worked fine with sendmail, however my zimbra/postfix is apparently not responding properly when the mailfoundry ask it if it host the domain, it appears to the mailfoundry that zimbra accepts the domain. The mailfoundry then adds the domain automatically to the smtp host, this is bad. Is there any way to change this behavior, so Zimbra only accepts mail for domains it actually host?

By default ZCS will reject email for non-deliverable mail addresses. So, I reckon the issue is that your ZimbraMtaMyNetworks - Zimbra :: Wiki is allowing the invalid domain as a relayed one.

Nope, that's not the case. What else could be causing Zimbra to think it host domains that it doesn't? It is rejecting plenty of mail.

zmprov getServer nfs.tc3net.com | grep zimbraMtaMyNetworks
    zimbraMtaMyNetworks: 127.0.0.0/8 10.40.40.0/24 64.112.192.0/26 10.20.20.0/24 64.112.192.0/19

Any help on this? I just got word back from the vendor of my mail appliance, they say the following.

"Make sure that your mail server is only accepting domains that it actually controls. One thing that can cause this behavior is if the mail server is setup in to trusting of a mode for other servers on its network and since the mailfoundry is on its network it may just be assuming anything attempted from the appliance should be valid and accepting it. I am not sure where that kind of setting would be on your mail server but I have seen this behavior before and it typically is just a minor permission change thats needed.