Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Migrating from Zimbra to Exchange 2010

Hybrid View

Default Migrating from Zimbra to Exchange 2010

My business is looking to Migrate to Exchange and the only issue that I am coming across is migration the Calendars. Any suggestions?

I don't think you are going to find any help with migrating away from Zimbra here. Most people who are moving away from it don't monitor the forums, and Zimbra won't bother researching ways or tools to migrate away, especially to exchange
    01 Networks, LLC / Cybernetik.net
    Zimbra NE and OSS Cloud Hosting
    Shared Web Hosting
    Consulting Services

Quote Originally Posted by pfosshage View Post
    My business is looking to Migrate to Exchange and the only issue that I am coming across is migration the Calendars. Any suggestions?
    Glad to hear you're migrating to Exchange. I'm not a Zimbra expert and sorry to see you haven't had much help from the Zimbra community so far but I can offer a suggestion that may be helpful.

Zimbra and Exchange both support the iCal format - so you could direct your users to share their Calendar in Zimbra as iCal; then subcribe to the Calendar via OWA/Outlook 2010. Finally they would be able to copy the items across using Outlook from their old Calendar to the new one.

It's not an ideal solution as it may lose some fidelity with appointments, attendees, categories etc; but for a small number of users it may be suitable.

If it's a larger migration; so long as you can get your data out of Zimbra, it's easy to get into Exchange. I've done some migrations from Unix platforms in the past where the source data was open and putting it into Exchange using Exchange Web Services was fairly easy (this was for 12,000 users). If you can get the calendar out in a machine readable format it can go into Exchange.

Steve

Steve,