View Poll Results: Would you utilize a module for managing additional directory information on Zimbra?

Voters
26. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

22 84.62%
  • Maybe

1 3.85%
  • No

3 11.54%
  • Not applicable

0 0%

Thread: Authenticate against Zimbra's LDAP

Hybrid View

Default Authenticate against Zimbra's LDAP

I know it is not designed for this application, but we are a small deployment of about 20 users evaluating Zimbra. I know directory information is stored in OpenLDAP. I am not experienced with either OpenLDAP or Zimbra but would like to utilize Zimbra's OpenLDAP to authenticate users in a POSIX environment (Fedora Core 6 to be exact).

A plugin to manage additional directory information necessary to distribute POSIX login information would be a huge enhancement to the product. But for now, what is the shortest distance to our goal of only maintaining one password store?
    Last edited by mattwalston; 02-07-2007 at 03:50 PM. Reason: Spelling error in title
    ----
    Matt Walston
    Entire IT Department
    Air Control Systems

Lightbulb Using LDAP

Quote Originally Posted by mattwalston View Post
    I know it is not designed for this application, but we are a small deployment of about 20 users evaluating Zimbra. I know directory information is stored in OpenLDAP. I am not experienced with either OpenLDAP or Zimbra but would like to utilize Zimbra's OpenLDAP to authenticate users in a POSIX environment (Fedora Core 6 to be exact).

A plugin to manage additional directory information necessary to distribute POSIX login information would be a huge enhancement to the product. But for now, what is the shortest distance to our goal of only maintaining one password store?
    Not a bad idea to have a single store of information. It makes it easier in the end to manage users, etc. I think you could go about this one of two ways: