Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Importing mailboxes from Apple Mail

Question Importing mailboxes from Apple Mail

I am new to Zimbra and plan on migrating all the mailboxes. The majority of my organization uses Apple Mail. Does anyone know how to import mailboxes from Apple Mail to Zimbra? I use the Network Edition btw.

Thanks!

is the mail currently stored on an imap server? (or is it downloaded via pop to apple mail?)
    imapsync would be perfect if you can leave your old solution up while you switch to zimbra
    or the slower method/one at a time: make two profiles in apple mail, thunderbird etc, and copy over mail folders.
    User Migration - ZimbraWiki
    Last edited by mmorse; 06-04-2007 at 10:32 AM.

Smile

The mail is downloaded via POP to Apple Mail. What's the best way to do it then?

Thanks.

Are there any 'copy' or 'copy to' features for folders or individual emails?
    (sry, not an mac person myself)

I did this for a couple of our users (Apple Mail/POP3 to Zimbra). Setup an IMAP account for the Zimbra server under Apple Mail. Then just copy messages from the POP3 folders to the Zimbra/IMAP folders. Based on a couple of things I saw when my users did this migration, I would recommend copying in smaller chunks of messages, rather than doing a large copy, and also do a copy rather than a move.

Could you explain what you mean by setting up an imap account for zimbra. I have about 150 accounts that need to be transferred from apple mail (imap and pop accounts).