Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: zmmailboxdctl is not running

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    124
    Rep Power
    9

    Default zmmailboxdctl is not running

    Hi all. I am using ubuntu 10.4 lts 64-bit
    I am currently running ZCS 6.08. 32bit
    I am trying to convert to ZCS 7.1.1 64
    I followed the directions Network Edition: Moving from 32-bit to 64-bit Server - Zimbra :: Wiki It looked like I got it transferred to the new server.
    But I get zmmailboxdctl is not running
    I do not have this in production yet because I want to use the same name and IP as the old server
    So Installed and configured bind, resolv.conf, host, hostname, interfaces
    I checked my dig domain mx dig domain any --these appear correct
    host `hostname` does not come back correctly but I am at a loss what to configure to make this work. And I am not even sure that is my problem but I can start there.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    124
    Rep Power
    9

    Default More info

    This is from my zimbra.log
    Jun 24 15:10:47 zmail5 zmmailboxdmgr[18872]: assuming no other instance is running
    Jun 24 15:10:47 zmail5 zmmailboxdmgr[18872]: file /opt/zimbra/log/zmmailboxd.pid does not exist
    Jun 24 15:10:47 zmail5 zmmailboxdmgr[18872]: assuming no other instance is running
    Jun 24 15:10:47 zmail5 zmmailboxdmgr[18872]: no manager process is running
    Jun 24 15:10:58 zmail5 clamd[22682]: SelfCheck: Database status OK.

    after restarting the server I get this error Jun 24 15:40:01 zmail5 postfix/postqueue[32649]: fatal: Queue report unavailable - mail system is down
    Last edited by iceruam; 06-24-2011 at 01:41 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    124
    Rep Power
    9

    Default dnsmasq

    I removed bind and installed dsnmasq, this fixed my host `hostname` problem
    but zmmailboxdctl still does not start

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    25
    Rep Power
    5

    Default zmconfigd not running ... try this

    I went through something similiar

    try reading through this thread and see if anything here helps

    http://www.zimbra.com/forums/adminis...t-running.html

    essentially the long and the short of that thread was to ensure that if you have this issue make sure netcat (/usr/bin/nc) is installed.

    Cheers

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    124
    Rep Power
    9

    Default still not functioning

    I am finding errors all over now
    Now I find an error about my DB version, says ours "65" from "64"
    I installed nc, I installed the patch also

    I am wondering if I just copied the whole 32-bit installation over to the 64-bit server and did an upgrade if that would work???
    Last edited by iceruam; 06-27-2011 at 11:35 AM.

  6. #6
    phoenix is offline Zimbra Consultant & Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Vannes, France
    Posts
    23,587
    Rep Power
    58

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by iceruam View Post
    I am wondering if I just copied the whole 32-bit installation over to the 64-bit server and did an upgrade if that would work???
    No, it wouldn't work - you need to follow the 32bit to 64bit migration article in the wiki and with the DB version error you'll most likely hit the same problem. Search the forums for a 'hack' to fix the DB version problem.
    Regards


    Bill


    Acompli: A new adventure for Co-Founder KevinH.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    124
    Rep Power
    9

    Default I did, but it made no sense

    I read the hack but it left me feeling confused and needing a lobotomy
    Could that error be the issue?
    And I followed step by step the upgrade wiki.
    I verified the system worked before I migrated my data, I was able to log into the admin console....
    My issue right now is that I am not able to pin point where the problem is, that is, did I mess up the xml, is the database corrupt?
    Last edited by iceruam; 06-27-2011 at 01:32 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    124
    Rep Power
    9

    Default I reinstalled

    I reinstalled and now I see a migration tool but unfortunately it is asking some questions I am not sure where to find

    is there somewhere I can look to find this stuff?


    Bind DN:
    Bind password:
    LDAP filter:
    LDAP search base:

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    124
    Rep Power
    9

    Default Gave up

    I could not make the new server work...
    I just reset all users passwords recreated the same accounts on the new server then used imapsync
    Probably better then dragging legacy stuff with me anyhow

Similar Threads

  1. [SOLVED] Unable to start all of the blackberry services
    By scasperson in forum Zimbra Connector for BlackBerry
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-18-2011, 07:30 AM
  2. zmmailboxdctl is stopped frequently..
    By tamilnandhu in forum Installation
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 04-12-2008, 09:59 AM
  3. Can't seem to get global in BES
    By sdemeyer in forum Zimbra Connector for BlackBerry
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 03-19-2008, 09:22 AM
  4. Post instsallation problems
    By Assaf in forum Installation
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 01-29-2007, 11:38 AM
  5. Trouble sending mail from Outlook
    By czaveri in forum Users
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 07-24-2006, 12:01 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •