Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 47

Thread: No_Such_Server

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    67
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    The slapd is running, I can telnet localhost 389. (sorry just a typo )
    Last edited by vpoorboy; 11-22-2005 at 12:40 PM.

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    2,103
    Rep Power
    14

    Default no colon

    telnet doesn't support hostort - it requires a space between them

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    67
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    yes, and I've editted my post, I can telnet localhost on port 389

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    2,103
    Rep Power
    14

    Default ldap init

    run (as zimbra) zmldapinit by hand.

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    67
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Firsts, the errors are:
    Code:
    slapd already running: pid 12591
    ldap_bind: Can't contact LDAP server (-1)
    ldap_bind: Can't contact LDAP server (-1)
    ls: /opt/zimbra/lib/conf/*ldif: No such file or directory
    then, I stopped ldap, and run zmldapinit again, it showed:
    Code:
    Started slapd: pid 14819
    ldap_bind: Can't contact LDAP server (-1)
    ldap_bind: Can't contact LDAP server (-1)
    ls: /opt/zimbra/lib/conf/*ldif: No such file or directory

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    19
    Rep Power
    10

    Default same results

    I am getting the same results as Vpoorboy when I ran the commands you requested marcmac..

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    2,103
    Rep Power
    14

    Default ldap host...

    WHat's does zmlocalconfig | grep ldap return?

    You can try this:

    In zmldapinit, change the ldapmodify lines - add -H ${zimbra_ldap_url} to each and re-run zmldapinit.

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    2,103
    Rep Power
    14

    Default Ok - new information

    New information.

    Type in this command:

    host localhost

    If it returns anything other than 127.0.0.1, that's a problem.

    After install.sh, in the menu config - ctl-c to exit, and edit /opt/zimbra/libexec/zmldapinit - add -H ldap://127.0.0.1:389 to each ldapmodify line - then re-run /opt/zimbra/libexec/zmsetup.pl

    Thanks, Chamo

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    67
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Thanks Marcmac, it's exactly the problem. I've installed Zimbra successfully.
    But why this happened. I used to install Zimbra M1 from source, and the method to uninstall it is just "rm". Maybe it caused the problem.
    Because when I run "host localhost", it returned:

    Code:
    localhost.test.homedns.org is an alias for test.homedns.org.
    test.homedns.org has address a.b.c.d
    localhost.test.homedns.org is an alias for test.homedns.org.
    localhost.test.homedns.org is an alias for test.homedns.org.
    So if I do something that "host localhost" return the right things (127.0.0.1), maybe the problem will be solved also ?

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    2,103
    Rep Power
    14

    Default dns issue

    it's basically a dns issue. A nice dns server will return 127.0.0.1 for localhost. A not-so-nice server will append the domain name, and return it's own IP.

    One possibility is to run a caching-only dns server (I can hear anand laughing from here) on your box, and point resolv.conf to it. Google that, it's beyond the scope of these forums.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •