password problem

Ask questions about your setup or get help installing ZCS server (ZD section below).
rmvg
Outstanding Member
Outstanding Member
Posts: 208
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:54 pm

password problem

Postby rmvg » Wed Sep 14, 2005 6:51 pm

I changed the admin password through the admin web console and the zimbra system seemed to lock me out or i made a mistake typing the password twice. The latter seems unlikely but is possible. Anywho i used the zimba command line until to set the admin password like a so.
zmprov sp admin@canmail.org XXXXXXX
Now i have a particularly nasty problem of being able to login to the admin web console without enter a password is this what the setpassword command is supposed to do?
Checked the zmmypasswd command but not quite sure how to use it or if it might help?


marcmac
Elite member
Elite member
Posts: 2091
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:53 pm

password problem

Postby marcmac » Wed Sep 14, 2005 7:08 pm

[quote user="rmvg"]I changed the admin password through the admin web console and the zimbra system seemed to lock me out or i made a mistake typing the password twice. The latter seems unlikely but is possible. Anywho i used the zimba command line until to set the admin password like a so.
zmprov sp admin@canmail.org XXXXXXX
Now i have a particularly nasty problem of being able to login to the admin web console without enter a password is this what the setpassword command is supposed to do?
Checked the zmmypasswd command but not quite sure how to use it or if it might help?[/QUOTE]
zmmypasswd sets the sql db password, that's not what you want.
Your method of resetting the admin password was correct - you shouldn't be able to log into the console without a password, but we'll check it out to see if we can reproduce it here.
Try restarting tomcat and see if it picks up the new password you've set.
rmvg
Outstanding Member
Outstanding Member
Posts: 208
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:54 pm

password problem

Postby rmvg » Wed Sep 14, 2005 8:34 pm

I am resetting the server as i have some hardware to add/remove it is going down now...................................

Ok back up and system is now asking for password i am going to try and change admin password again using web console and see what happens.................. everything worked fine this time.
Think I may have had a couple of admin panels open last time i will pay close attention next time and send any errors to this list.
rrao
Zimbra Alumni
Zimbra Alumni
Posts: 187
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:55 pm

password problem

Postby rrao » Wed Sep 14, 2005 9:01 pm

Thanks for the post. I think you encountered two different(but related) issues. Below are what my interpretation of what you might have done and their details.
[QUOTE]I changed the admin password through the admin web console and the zimbra system seemed to lock me out or i made a mistake typing the password twice. [/QUOTE]

I could reproduce(the result) but not sure if this is exactly what you did.
The problem occurs(hard to makeout in IE) if we check 'must change password next time'-checkbox while updating the password.

Steps to reproduce:

1. Login to admin console

2. Select an account(dont doubleClick nor press Edit)

3. Press ChangePassword button in the toolBar

4. Enter new password and 'check' the must change password-checkbox

5. Logoff

6. Try relogin
In Firefox we get

An unknown application error has occurred. Please correct any errors and retry. If the problem persists, please contact your System Aministrator. (account.CHANGE_PASSWORD)

In IE we get:

Authentication failed and a javaScript browser exception.
We already have a bug logged for this
[QUOTE]Now i have a particularly nasty problem of being able to login to the admin web console without enter a password is this what the setpassword command is supposed to do?[/QUOTE]

If you meant ' login to Admin > CloseBrowser(dont logoff) > try logging

into admin again by typing the adminURL in the browser'

...then, it directly opening adminconsole bypassing the admin login screen
We already have a bug logged for this as well
P.S. Bugzilla will be open for forum users in the near future.
Please let us know if my interpretation of the steps are not accurate.



Thanks,

Raja
rmvg
Outstanding Member
Outstanding Member
Posts: 208
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:54 pm

password problem

Postby rmvg » Wed Sep 14, 2005 9:56 pm

You hit the nail on the head but i did not check the change password nexttime box to get the error, or did i if u say it is hard to makeout in IE mabey i did it by accident. The second problem is exactly as u state below must be a tomcat cache issue or something right? Just have to remember to logout infact that could be used as a feature not a bug saves having to type the admin password all the time.
ps does the change password box come up when u create new users? i have not seen it yet. That would be great (even if it is broken) as i have an earlier post asking for that feature.
rrao
Zimbra Alumni
Zimbra Alumni
Posts: 187
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:55 pm

password problem

Postby rrao » Thu Sep 15, 2005 2:19 am

[quote user="rmvg"]The second problem is exactly as u state below must be a tomcat cache issue or something right?[/QUOTE]It is stored as a cookie in the browser.

[quote user="rmvg"]Just have to remember to logout infact that could be used as a feature not a bug saves having to type the admin password all the time.[/QUOTE]

Although it could be a feature, just to make adminConsole more secure as it is*admin* console, it is scraped in the upcoming release and the admin will be asked to authenticate everytime.

However, this feature is available for ZimbraMailClient. Just check 'Remember me on this computer'-checkbox in the login screen and you can directly login to the mail client everytime from then on unless/until you manually logoff OR clear your browser's cache :cool:
[quote user="rmvg"]

ps does the change password box come up when u create new users? i have not seen it yet. That would be great (even if it is broken) as i have an earlier post asking for that feature.[/QUOTE]

It should be available in the upcoming release.
As a work around, Users can always change their password in mailClient's Options. Although it doesnt FORCE users of the mailclient to change password, they still have an option.

MailClient > Options > General(Tab) > Change Password
Thanks,

Raja
rmvg
Outstanding Member
Outstanding Member
Posts: 208
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:54 pm

password problem

Postby rmvg » Thu Sep 15, 2005 6:06 am

Users change there passwords without being forced haha very funny.
Guess the autologin as admin is a more of security issue rather than a feature call me lazy but i thought it was alright. Scrapping it is the best idea though.
Thanks

Return to “Installation and Upgrade”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests