General Config questions

Ask questions about your setup or get help installing ZCS server (ZD section below).
neocrypter
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:03 pm

General Config questions

Postby neocrypter » Sun Jan 29, 2006 2:59 pm

So the install went great on my FC4 box, but I cant seem to tell if its running I go to http://myipinternaladdy/zimbra nothing comes up, so Since im new to mail servers, and a Novice with Linux could someone please walk me throught the steps after the install aka the configuration, I looked around the forums but couldnt find anything that really seemed to help Ive seen this thread and used ti to set up it
My">http://www.zimbra.com/forums/showthread.php?t=590&highlight=fc4
My
host file should I leave it 127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost

or should I set it to 127.0.0.1 mymachinename.mydomain mymachiine name

I have edited a host file before.
thanks


14319KevinH
Ambassador
Ambassador
Posts: 4558
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:52 pm

General Config questions

Postby 14319KevinH » Sun Jan 29, 2006 3:02 pm

What does your /etc/hosts look like now? Anything in /opt/zimbra/logs/zimbra.log?
neocrypter
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:03 pm

General Config questions

Postby neocrypter » Sun Jan 29, 2006 3:06 pm

When I edited it iput hosts to 127.0.0.1 mail.kckanar.com maiil

I just went to check the log and when I tried to cd /opt/zimbra/logs/ it said there was no such directory
14319KevinH
Ambassador
Ambassador
Posts: 4558
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:52 pm

General Config questions

Postby 14319KevinH » Sun Jan 29, 2006 3:27 pm

Your /etc/hosts file should have two lines. Can you post your entire file? Try /opt/zimbra/log
neocrypter
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:03 pm

General Config questions

Postby neocrypter » Sun Jan 29, 2006 3:38 pm

That is the entire file other than the commented out Documentation.
bobby
Zimbra Employee
Zimbra Employee
Posts: 515
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:01 pm

General Config questions

Postby bobby » Sun Jan 29, 2006 3:39 pm

yeah it should look more like this (a.b.c.d is the ip address):
127.0.0.1 localhost

a.b.c.d host.domain.com host


hopefully the host name is also set up in the (local) dns so that this command displays a.b.c.d:
host `hostname`
neocrypter
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:03 pm

General Config questions

Postby neocrypter » Sun Jan 29, 2006 3:47 pm

Hmmm the a.b.c.d should be my ip its getting from dhcp right? and I didnt set anything up in local, this was from a 100% unmodified install of FC4 other then Yum updates and Yum installs that are listed in the other thread
neocrypter
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:03 pm

General Config questions

Postby neocrypter » Mon Jan 30, 2006 1:32 am

ok so I did host `hostname` and I got this

Host localhost.localdomain not found: 3(NXDOMAIN)
phoenix
Ambassador
Ambassador
Posts: 26701
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:56 pm
Location: Liverpool, England

General Config questions

Postby phoenix » Mon Jan 30, 2006 5:46 am

[quote user="neocrypter"]Hmmm the a.b.c.d should be my ip its getting from dhcp right? and I didnt set anything up in local, this was from a 100% unmodified install of FC4 other then Yum updates and Yum installs that are listed in the other thread[/QUOTE]

I'm not sure that DHCP puts the IP in the hosts file (but I'm sure I'll get corrected if it's wrong). You should be running your Zimbra server with a fixed IP address then modify the hosts file to reflect the change i.e.
127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost

a.b.c.d host.domain.com host


with a.b.c.d set as the fixed IP address, that should solve your problem.
Regards

Bill

Rspamd: A high performance spamassassin replacement

Per ardua ad astra
neocrypter
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:03 pm

General Config questions

Postby neocrypter » Mon Jan 30, 2006 9:14 pm

Ok again I think im up and running. But I cant seem to be able to accsess it via my internal network, even if i try doing http://127.0.0.1/ I get connection refused, and thats when im on the server boxen myself. any clues?

Return to “Installation and Upgrade”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 14 guests