[SOLVED] How to bring up the setup menu

Ask questions about your setup or get help installing ZCS server (ZD section below).
jml75
Advanced member
Advanced member
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:06 pm

[SOLVED] How to bring up the setup menu

Postby jml75 » Wed Nov 29, 2006 1:30 pm

Hello,
How can I bring back the initial setup menu to reconfigure an already running zimbra installation?
Thanx!


nfear24
Advanced member
Advanced member
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:23 pm

[SOLVED] How to bring up the setup menu

Postby nfear24 » Fri Mar 30, 2007 9:20 am

[quote user="jml75"]Hello,
How can I bring back the initial setup menu to reconfigure an already running zimbra installation?
Thanx![/QUOTE]
Im also curious. How do you reconfigure a running zimbra installation with that initial setup menu in the command line.
dijichi2
Elite member
Elite member
Posts: 1133
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:00 pm

[SOLVED] How to bring up the setup menu

Postby dijichi2 » Fri Mar 30, 2007 11:00 am

Do you mean this one?
/opt/zimbra/libexec/zmsetup.pl
nfear24
Advanced member
Advanced member
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:23 pm

[SOLVED] How to bring up the setup menu

Postby nfear24 » Fri Mar 30, 2007 2:31 pm

[quote user="dijichi2"]Do you mean this one?
/opt/zimbra/libexec/zmsetup.pl[/QUOTE]
Yep I know where that is. but that just uses your last config file. I actually want access to the main menu when you install zimbra for the first time and you set the admin password and all those settings. How can I access that menu on a current install of zimbra?
Thanks
phoenix
Ambassador
Ambassador
Posts: 26674
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:56 pm
Location: Liverpool, England

[SOLVED] How to bring up the setup menu

Postby phoenix » Fri Mar 30, 2007 2:34 pm

That's only for a clean install, perhaps if you described what you want it could be available via zmprov or some such tool.
Regards

Bill

Rspamd: A high performance spamassassin replacement

Per ardua ad astra
nfear24
Advanced member
Advanced member
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:23 pm

[SOLVED] How to bring up the setup menu

Postby nfear24 » Fri Mar 30, 2007 2:41 pm

[quote user="10330phoenix"]That's only for a clean install, perhaps if you described what you want it could be available via zmprov or some such tool.[/QUOTE]
ya thats my problem zmprov is hosed. if I try to run a zmprov command this is what I get.
[QUOTE]zimbra@mail:/home/nick$ zmprov gaaa

ERROR: zclient.IO_ERROR (invoke unable to parse response: Apache Tomcat/5.5.15 - Error report

HTTP Status 404 - Servlet AdminServlet is not available


type Status report

message Servlet AdminServlet is not available

description The requested resource (Servlet AdminServlet is not available) is not available.


Apache Tomcat/5.5.15

, server: mail.tickus.com) (cause: com.zimbra.soap.SoapParseException unable to parse response: Apache Tomcat/5.5.15 - Error report

HTTP Status 404 - Servlet AdminServlet is not available


type Status report

message Servlet AdminServlet is not available

description The requested resource (Servlet AdminServlet is not available) is not available.


Apache Tomcat/5.5.15

)

[/QUOTE]
phoenix
Ambassador
Ambassador
Posts: 26674
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:56 pm
Location: Liverpool, England

[SOLVED] How to bring up the setup menu

Postby phoenix » Fri Mar 30, 2007 3:09 pm

Is the related to your post on trying to remove the catch-all address? Is there anything in the logs when you tried that? What else did you do apart from that?
Regards

Bill

Rspamd: A high performance spamassassin replacement

Per ardua ad astra
nfear24
Advanced member
Advanced member
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:23 pm

[SOLVED] How to bring up the setup menu

Postby nfear24 » Fri Mar 30, 2007 5:11 pm

[quote user="10330phoenix"]Is the related to your post on trying to remove the catch-all address? Is there anything in the logs when you tried that? What else did you do apart from that?[/QUOTE]
Yes this is related to my other post. I have tried everything and it doesn't seem like anyone really has a fix for it. I dont know if thats exactly what triggered it because the server has been running for like 6 months without a glitch, untill I changed a couple commands, but I cant believe it would hose it up this bad.
I have this error in the logs about binding to port 7025 but nothing is running on there.
2007-03-29 09:15:43,995 FATAL [main] [] soap - Unable to start servlet

com.zimbra.common.service.ServiceException: system failure: Could not bind to port=7025 bindaddr=tickus.com ssl=false useChannels=false

at com.zimbra.common.service.ServiceException.FAILURE (ServiceException.java:175)

at com.zimbra.cs.util.NetUtil.getServerSocket(NetUtil .java:83)

at com.zimbra.cs.util.NetUtil.getTcpServerSocket(NetU til.java:51)

at com.zimbra.cs.lmtpserver.LmtpServer.startupLmtpSer ver(LmtpServer.java:195)

at com.zimbra.cs.util.Zimbra.startup(Zimbra.java:144)

at com.zimbra.soap.SoapServlet.init(SoapServlet.java: 115)

at javax.servlet.GenericServlet.init(GenericServlet.j ava:211)

at org.apache.catalina.core.StandardWrapper.loadServl et(StandardWrapper.java:1105)

at org.apache.catalina.core.StandardWrapper.load(Stan dardWrapper.java:932)

at org.apache.catalina.core.StandardContext.loadOnSta rtup(StandardContext.java:3915)

at org.apache.catalina.core.StandardContext.start(Sta ndardContext.java:4176)

at org.apache.catalina.core.ContainerBase.addChildInt ernal(ContainerBase.java:759)

at org.apache.catalina.core.ContainerBase.addChild(Co ntainerBase.java:739)

at org.apache.catalina.core.StandardHost.addChild(Sta ndardHost.java:524)

at org.apache.catalina.startup.HostConfig.deployDirec tory(HostConfig.java:910)

at org.apache.catalina.startup.HostConfig.deployDirec tories(HostConfig.java:873)

at org.apache.catalina.startup.HostConfig.deployApps( HostConfig.java:474)

at org.apache.catalina.startup.HostConfig.start(HostC onfig.java:1118)

at org.apache.catalina.startup.HostConfig.lifecycleEv ent(HostConfig.java:310)

at org.apache.catalina.util.LifecycleSupport.fireLife cycleEvent(LifecycleSupport.java:119)

at org.apache.catalina.core.ContainerBase.start(Conta inerBase.java:1020)

at org.apache.catalina.core.StandardHost.start(Standa rdHost.java:718)

at org.apache.catalina.core.ContainerBase.start(Conta inerBase.java:1012)

at org.apache.catalina.core.StandardEngine.start(Stan dardEngine.java:442)

at org.apache.catalina.core.StandardService.start(Sta ndardService.java:450)

at org.apache.catalina.core.StandardServer.start(Stan dardServer.java:700)

at org.apache.catalina.startup.Catalina.start(Catalin a.java:551)

at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Nativ e Method)

at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Native MethodAccessorImpl.java:39)

at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(De legatingMethodAccessorImpl.java:25)

at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Method.java:585)

at org.apache.catalina.startup.Bootstrap.start(Bootst rap.java:275)

at org.apache.catalina.startup.Bootstrap.main(Bootstr ap.java:406)

at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Nativ e Method)

at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Native MethodAccessorImpl.java:39)

at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(De legatingMethodAccessorImpl.java:25)

at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Method.java:585)

at com.zimbra.cs.launcher.TomcatLauncher.start(Tomcat Launcher.java:52)

at com.zimbra.cs.launcher.TomcatLauncher.main(TomcatL auncher.java:74)

Caused by: java.net.BindException: Cannot assign requested address

I have checked everything with netstat. My admin page is blank with the background and my login to the email gives me this error:

[QUOTE]

An unknown application error has occurred. Please correct any errors and retry. If the problem persists, please contact your System Administrator. (INVALID_PDU)[/QUOTE]
my zimbra logs also show this in them:
[QUOTE]

Mar 30 07:37:22 mail postfix/lmtp[26474]: 4FA5A11D190: to=, relay=none, delay=217590, status=deferred (connect to mail.tickus.com[192.168.1.103]: Connection refused)[/QUOTE]
lmtp runs on port 7025 right. zimbra not being able to bind to that port is driving me crazy since nothing is running on it.
dijichi2
Elite member
Elite member
Posts: 1133
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:00 pm

[SOLVED] How to bring up the setup menu

Postby dijichi2 » Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:54 pm

[QUOTE]Yep I know where that is. but that just uses your last config file. I actually want access to the main menu when you install zimbra for the first time and you set the admin password and all those settings. How can I access that menu on a current install of zimbra?[/QUOTE]
It should bring up that menu anyway, just with your local config applied to it. If you want to run it without your local config, try this:
mv /opt/zimbra/.install_history /opt/zimbra/.tmp.install_history
nfear24
Advanced member
Advanced member
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:23 pm

[SOLVED] How to bring up the setup menu

Postby nfear24 » Sat Mar 31, 2007 10:21 am

[quote user="dijichi2"]It should bring up that menu anyway, just with your local config applied to it. If you want to run it without your local config, try this:
mv /opt/zimbra/.install_history /opt/zimbra/.tmp.install_history[/QUOTE]
Yep that brought the menu back up. But it wont let me apply the settings it keeps saying this:

[QUOTE]Address unconfigured (**) items or correct ldap configuration (? - help)[/QUOTE]
but everything is configured ok.
thanks

Return to “Installation and Upgrade”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests