Initializing LDAP...Failed (256)

Ask questions about your setup or get help installing ZCS server (ZD section below).
jerryboi
Advanced member
Advanced member
Posts: 124
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:09 pm

Initializing LDAP...Failed (256)

Postby jerryboi » Tue Feb 27, 2007 5:03 pm

Thank you for the quick reply, I'm trying hard to comprehend it. My hosts file looks like this:



zimbra@always:/> cat /etc/hosts

#

# hosts This file describes a number of hostname-to-address

# mappings for the TCP/IP subsystem. It is mostly

# used at boot time, when no name servers are running.

# On small systems, this file can be used instead of a

# "named" name server.

# Syntax:

#

# IP-Address Full-Qualified-Hostname Short-Hostname

#
127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost
# special IPv6 addresses

::1 localhost ipv6-localhost ipv6-loopback
fe00::0 ipv6-localnet
ff00::0 ipv6-mcastprefix

ff02::1 ipv6-allnodes

ff02::2 ipv6-allrouters

ff02::3 ipv6-allhosts

195.70.35.236 always.ringstwice.net always


phoenix
Ambassador
Ambassador
Posts: 26674
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:56 pm
Location: Liverpool, England

Initializing LDAP...Failed (256)

Postby phoenix » Wed Feb 28, 2007 1:45 am

The hosts file looks OK but I'd suggest disabling ipv6, it can cause problems. Did you make changes to your DNS A & MX records based on the rest of my post?
Regards

Bill

Rspamd: A high performance spamassassin replacement

Per ardua ad astra
jerryboi
Advanced member
Advanced member
Posts: 124
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:09 pm

Initializing LDAP...Failed (256)

Postby jerryboi » Wed Feb 28, 2007 6:11 pm

Disabled IPv6, bit didn't make any changes... Did not know what to change, really. Did look into the hostname bit, I think what you ment there was
host `hostname -f`

This is what my "dns config" looks like:  src=http://img134.imageshack.us/img134/4553/picture1sm8.png />
And still confused about all this not so simple stuff. Thank you very much for your help.
jholder
Zimbra Employee
Zimbra Employee
Posts: 4686
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:00 pm

Initializing LDAP...Failed (256)

Postby jholder » Wed Feb 28, 2007 6:16 pm

Can you post the output of

zmlocalconfig | grep ldap
Thanks

john
phoenix
Ambassador
Ambassador
Posts: 26674
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:56 pm
Location: Liverpool, England

Initializing LDAP...Failed (256)

Postby phoenix » Thu Mar 01, 2007 2:10 am

[quote user="jerryboi"]Disabled IPv6, bit didn't make any changes... Did not know what to change, really. Did look into the hostname bit, I think what you ment there was
host `hostname -f`
[/QUOTE]With or without the '-f' gives you the same result.:)
[quote user="jerryboi"]This is what my "dns config" looks like:

And still confused about all this not so simple stuff. Thank you very much for your help.[/QUOTE]That's OK as far as it goes, the problem is there are no public DNS servers with your domain name in them. That's why the split-DNS isn't working, it's meant to overcome the problem of having a server on a private IP address behind a NAT device. This report shows no records, if the only DNS server that has your domain name is also behind a NAT router then this won't work.
Regards

Bill

Rspamd: A high performance spamassassin replacement

Per ardua ad astra
jerryboi
Advanced member
Advanced member
Posts: 124
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:09 pm

Initializing LDAP...Failed (256)

Postby jerryboi » Thu Mar 01, 2007 6:14 am

Thank you both for your help.
zimbra@always:/home/jerryboi> zmlocalconfig | grep ldap

ldap_cache_account_maxage = 15

ldap_cache_account_maxsize = 5000

ldap_cache_cos_maxage = 15

ldap_cache_cos_maxsize = 100

ldap_cache_domain_maxage = 15

ldap_cache_domain_maxsize = 100

ldap_cache_server_maxage = 15

ldap_cache_server_maxsize = 100

ldap_cache_timezone_maxsize = 100

ldap_cache_zimlet_maxage = 15

ldap_cache_zimlet_maxsize = 100

ldap_connect_pool_debug = false

ldap_connect_pool_initsize = 1

ldap_connect_pool_maxsize = 50

ldap_connect_pool_prefsize = 0

ldap_connect_pool_timeout = 120000

ldap_connect_timeout = 30000

ldap_host = always.ringstwice.net

ldap_is_master = true

ldap_log_level = 0

ldap_master_url = ldap://always.ringstwice.net:389

ldap_port = 389

ldap_root_password = *

ldap_url = ldap://always.ringstwice.net:389

postfix_sender_canonical_maps = ldap:/opt/zimbra/conf/ldap-scm.cf

postfix_transport_maps = ldap:/opt/zimbra/conf/ldap-transport.cf

postfix_virtual_alias_domains = ldap:/opt/zimbra/conf/ldap-vad.cf

postfix_virtual_alias_maps = ldap:/opt/zimbra/conf/ldap-vam.cf

postfix_virtual_mailbox_domains = ldap:/opt/zimbra/conf/ldap-vmd.cf

postfix_virtual_mailbox_maps = ldap:/opt/zimbra/conf/ldap-vmm.cf

zimbra_class_provisioning = com.zimbra.cs.account.ldap.LdapProvisioning

zimbra_ldap_password = *

zimbra_ldap_user = zimbra

zimbra_ldap_userdn = uid=zimbra,cn=admins,cn=zimbra

zimbra_zmprov_default_to_ldap = false

On my system (opensuse 10.1) the '-f' switch does make a difference:
zimbra@always:/home/jerryboi> host `hostname`   

Host always not found: 3(NXDOMAIN)

zimbra@always:/home/pc> host `hostname -f`

always.ringstwice.net has address 195.70.35.236


My domain is not .com but .net, this is the record you should be looking at. The same parkxx.secureserver.com is supposed to hold the address record for the always host, that serves the rest of the zone. I only have a a web interface to configure it, as shown in the previous post. It is most definitely not behind a NAT router.
It is no no never so simple.
jerryboi
Advanced member
Advanced member
Posts: 124
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:09 pm

Initializing LDAP...Failed (256)

Postby jerryboi » Tue Mar 06, 2007 4:10 pm

To sum it up, one should be very careful if the domain registrator's "total dns control" interface looks like on the above picture (we call that color goose-green, by the way). Sometimes your host's A records don't get registered so that pingability.com would confirm it, you're better off configuring your own dns server.

Return to “Installation and Upgrade”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 9 guests