How to: install zimbra on multiple site with single domain

Ask questions about your setup or get help installing ZCS server (ZD section below).
didik.swn

Postby didik.swn » Wed Apr 01, 2015 11:43 pm

Hi everyone,

I need a solution for the implementation zimbra in my company. Because my company has several branch offices, it would be better if in each branch office have their own server. By doing so, it will reduce work load in the central server. So the zimbra mail server will be built using a single domain name such as "@ example.com" but has several servers in multiple locations.
Is it possible? If yes, which zimbra products should I use?

Thank you

cayaraa
Outstanding Member
Outstanding Member
ZCS/ZD Version: ZCS 8.7 NE & ZCS 8.7 FOSS

Postby cayaraa » Thu Apr 02, 2015 3:06 pm

How many users are at the branch offices and about how many total? Some of this would probably also depend on the speed of their links. I have no experience in branch office so I'm guessing others could give more ideas.

We do run more then one zimbra server with a single domain setup with a split domain type setup:

https://wiki.zimbra.com/wiki/Split_Domain

We have a central ldap that has all of our users and a we use a mail router which uses that ldap to figure out which zimbra server your account is on. We also use that central ldap server as the global address book source so both zimbra servers have access to everyone's address. This is partly because we already had that infrastructure in place before we went to zimbra.