Flooding logs in /var/log/zimbra.log, zimbra-stats.log, maillog, messages

Discuss your pilot or production implementation with other Zimbra admins or our engineers.
evalee

Flooding logs in /var/log/zimbra.log, zimbra-stats.log, maillog, messages

Postby evalee » Wed Dec 05, 2012 3:39 am

Hello~~
I have a problem with my log files...my /var/log/zimbra-stat.log, zimbra.log, maillog, messages log file sizes flooded in second...
fyi, my os is a Redhat based 64-bit installation, CentOS release 6.3 (Final)

Zimbra network edition 8.0.1, I have a mail server (ldap master) and a mta server (ldap replica) installed separately.
all the installation is based on the multiserver installation guide 8.0 given from the zimbra official website,

my log files gone crazy after i configured the rsyslog.conf and restart rsyslog as described on this link
furthermore">http://www.zimbra.com/docs/ne/8.0.0/multi_server_install/wwhelp/wwhimpl/js/html/wwhelp.htm#href=ZCS_Multiserver_Network_8.0.Final_Set-Up.html
furthermore
, the log updates is like crazy non-stop when i view it in real time by using the tail -f /var/log/zimbra-stats.log command
Does anyone know how to solve this? I'm stuck. Please help!

user101

Re: Flooding logs in /var/log/zimbra.log, zimbra-stats.log, maillog, messages

Postby user101 » Thu Apr 20, 2017 11:20 am

Hi,

Have you find the solution for this ? Have same problem on upgrade from 8.7.0 to 8.7.5 on CentOS .
Multiserver setup demo env without traffic , zimbra-stats.log grows 250MB/s without stopping. I had to disable rsyslog atm.
user101

Postby user101 » Thu Apr 20, 2017 1:52 pm

I located issue , the rsyslog was missconfigured and had multiple loops which increased ~2KB/s of traffic to ~250MB/s .
L. Mark Stone
Elite member
Elite member
ZCS/ZD Version: 8.6.0 Patch 8

Postby L. Mark Stone » Thu Apr 20, 2017 1:56 pm

user101 wrote:I located issue , the rsyslog was missconfigured and had multiple loops which increased ~2KB/s of traffic to ~250MB/s .