migrate ZCS NE 7 from 64-bit to 32-bit

Discuss your pilot or production implementation with other Zimbra admins or our engineers.
umarzuki
Advanced member
Advanced member
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 12:46 am

migrate ZCS NE 7 from 64-bit to 32-bit

Postby umarzuki » Thu Nov 21, 2013 4:31 am

For some reason I need to do this. both on separate VMware ESXi
Would it be possible to do this like below?
1- do ldap dump on old server

2- match localconfig settings from old to new

3- restore ldap to new server

4- delete /opt/zimbra/db/data/ on new server

5- copy /opt/zimbra/db/data/ from old server to new server

6- copy /opt/zimbra/store/ & /opt/zimbra/index/ from old server to new server

7- remove contents of /opt/zimbra/redolog/ on new server

8- run zmfixperms

9- start zimbra services on new server
If yes, would calendar & contacts data be migrated along?
I imagine it would not be as easy as migrating from different OS version (e.g.: RHEL 5 to RHEL 6)


phoenix
Ambassador
Ambassador
Posts: 26329
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:56 pm
Location: Liverpool, England

migrate ZCS NE 7 from 64-bit to 32-bit

Postby phoenix » Thu Nov 21, 2013 4:44 am

[quote user="umarzuki"]For some reason I need to do this. both on separate VMware ESXi[/QUOTE]What would be the reason for that? The 32bit versions are deprecated and you'd only have to go through this move again when you upgrade to more recent versions of Zimbra.
[quote user="umarzuki"]Would it be possible to do this like below?[/QUOTE]No, not as far as I know.
Regards

Bill

Rspamd: A high performance spamassassin replacement

If you'd like to see this implemented in a future version of ZCS then please vote on Bugzilla entries 97706 & 108168
umarzuki
Advanced member
Advanced member
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 12:46 am

migrate ZCS NE 7 from 64-bit to 32-bit

Postby umarzuki » Thu Nov 21, 2013 5:11 am

This is because only 32 bit zimbra was provided.
So what would need to be done to make this happens?
Sent from my Lenovo S920_ROW using Tapatalk
phoenix
Ambassador
Ambassador
Posts: 26329
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:56 pm
Location: Liverpool, England

migrate ZCS NE 7 from 64-bit to 32-bit

Postby phoenix » Thu Nov 21, 2013 5:13 am

[quote user="umarzuki"]This is because only 32 bit zimbra was provided. [/QUOTE]I don't understand what that means.
Regards

Bill

Rspamd: A high performance spamassassin replacement

If you'd like to see this implemented in a future version of ZCS then please vote on Bugzilla entries 97706 & 108168
umarzuki
Advanced member
Advanced member
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 12:46 am

migrate ZCS NE 7 from 64-bit to 32-bit

Postby umarzuki » Thu Nov 21, 2013 5:26 am

VM provider only provides 32-bit OS & unfortunately I was tasked to make this happen no matter how absurd it may sound.
phoenix
Ambassador
Ambassador
Posts: 26329
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:56 pm
Location: Liverpool, England

migrate ZCS NE 7 from 64-bit to 32-bit

Postby phoenix » Thu Nov 21, 2013 5:30 am

[quote user="umarzuki"]VM provider only provides 32-bit OS & unfortunately I was tasked to make this happen no matter how absurd it may sound.[/QUOTE]You're boxing yourself (or a client?) into a dead-end situation but you're currently running 64bit - what's wrong with that provider? If you're intent on doing this I'd suggest you look at ZeXtras.
Regards

Bill

Rspamd: A high performance spamassassin replacement

If you'd like to see this implemented in a future version of ZCS then please vote on Bugzilla entries 97706 & 108168
umarzuki
Advanced member
Advanced member
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 12:46 am

migrate ZCS NE 7 from 64-bit to 32-bit

Postby umarzuki » Thu Nov 21, 2013 5:49 am

It seems (as I was just updated) this would be multidomain Zimbra (hosted) on provider's site.
15337Raunaq
Advanced member
Advanced member
Posts: 157
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 2:59 am

migrate ZCS NE 7 from 64-bit to 32-bit

Postby 15337Raunaq » Thu Nov 21, 2013 2:26 pm

I would suggest the same thing as Bill suggested : Stay on 64 bit. Whatever it is single domain or multi-domain; stay on 64-bit.ZCS 7 is available for both 32-bit and 64 bit but ZCS 8 is not.It only supports 64 bit.So you again have to migrate to 64 bit when you upgrade.

Return to “Administrators”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests