Add new storage

Discuss your pilot or production implementation with other Zimbra admins or our engineers.
Florin
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2021 12:05 pm

Add new storage

Postby Florin » Thu Feb 18, 2021 12:19 pm

Hello,
First post here, hope i am in the right section.

I am running Zimbra 9.0 Network installed on Ubuntu 18.04 LTS in VmWare.

I'm running out of free space (/ is using 91%) and i will like to add (or increase) the available space.

What is the best / right way to do it?


Klug
Elite member
Elite member
Posts: 2422
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2013 11:35 am
Contact:

Re: Add new storage

Postby Klug » Thu Feb 18, 2021 1:57 pm

IMHO the best way is to use HSM.

Look here: https://wiki.zimbra.com/wiki/Zimbra_NG_ ... Management

Create a new volume, it can be on a slower (cheaper) storage: usual setup is main volume (databases, indexes, new mails) on an SSD volume and the secondary one (mails older than 10 days) on a NearLine one.
Mount it to your VM.
Set it up and enable in in the web admin UI.
Setup your HSM polixy in the web admin UI.
Florin
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2021 12:05 pm

Re: Add new storage

Postby Florin » Fri Feb 19, 2021 6:49 am

Intersting read, didn't knew it was possible. Thank you Klug.

In my situation i can only add (at least for now) storage from the VmWare server storage (HDD not SSD).
I fotget to mention that i am a noob at Zimbra and linux OS, so a guided tutorial will be great for me. I've searched the web but didn't found one, but i hope that just my google-ing skill is bad and such information exist.

I have added a new HDD to the Zimbra VM but i think i need to reboot the Zimbra server so that the new HDD is recognized. I do not want to reboot the server untill weekend so i don't disrupt activity in the company.

I've tried this: viewtopic.php?t=54271 but "zimbraExpandLV" is not a recognized command.
Klug
Elite member
Elite member
Posts: 2422
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2013 11:35 am
Contact:

Re: Add new storage

Postby Klug » Fri Feb 19, 2021 7:34 am

You shouldn't have to reboot the server so it sees the new volume.
But you'll need a bit of linux CLI knowledge to get it handled and mounted, vmware KB article has some hints: https://kb.vmware.com/s/article/1003940

Once your VM knows about the new disk, you can use HSM with it (easier than expanding IMHO).
Florin
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2021 12:05 pm

Re: Add new storage

Postby Florin » Fri Feb 19, 2021 8:25 am

Klug, acording to that article i have to reboot the VM twice. Will do so tomorow. Thank you!

PS: if i shutdown the VM, encrease the HDD 1 size, will that solve my problem with free space? Do i need to do anything else?
User avatar
DualBoot
Elite member
Elite member
Posts: 1321
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2016 8:18 pm
Location: France - Earth
ZCS/ZD Version: ZCS FLOSS - 8.8.15 Mutli servers
Contact:

Re: Add new storage

Postby DualBoot » Fri Feb 19, 2021 5:41 pm

hello,

Klug is right, no need to reboot to add a new volume.
On the Linux server side you need to rescan iscsi bus.

Regards,
Florin
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2021 12:05 pm

Re: Add new storage

Postby Florin » Wed Feb 24, 2021 10:29 am

Thank you for the guidance. In the end i extended the hdd in the OS.
Problem solved.

Return to “Administrators”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], kdiamond and 18 guests