Configure snmp after installation?

Discuss your pilot or production implementation with other Zimbra admins or our engineers.
bjdraw
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:00 pm

Configure snmp after installation?

Postby bjdraw » Fri Jun 16, 2006 1:06 pm

Due to poor planning on my part, I neglected to configure SNMP during installation. I tried to rerun the install script, but I couldn't figure out how to get back to the menu where I could configure snmp.
Is it possible to configure snmp without uninstalling and reinstalling Zimbra?
Thanks

Ben


14319KevinH
Ambassador
Ambassador
Posts: 4558
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:52 pm

Configure snmp after installation?

Postby 14319KevinH » Mon Jun 19, 2006 3:32 pm

Did you look in the admin UI? You should be able to enable it after the fact.
bjdraw
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:00 pm

Configure snmp after installation?

Postby bjdraw » Tue Jun 20, 2006 3:11 pm

It is enabled under Services for that server, but I need to set the community string etc.
phoenix
Ambassador
Ambassador
Posts: 26417
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:56 pm
Location: Liverpool, England

Configure snmp after installation?

Postby phoenix » Wed Jun 21, 2006 1:19 am

[quote user="bjdraw"]It is enabled under Services for that server, but I need to set the community string etc.[/QUOTE]

The community string is set to 'zimbra' in /opt/zimbra/snmp/conf/snmp.conf - or is that not what you mean?
Regards

Bill

Rspamd: A high performance spamassassin replacement

If you'd like to see this implemented in a future version of ZCS then please vote on Bugzilla entries 97706 & 108168
bjdraw
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:00 pm

Configure snmp after installation?

Postby bjdraw » Fri Jun 23, 2006 8:55 am

That is exactly what I mean, the Data Center operators want me to configure it to their existing string.
I assume all I have to do is edit that one file and restart the service?
layer3guru
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:10 pm

Configure snmp after installation?

Postby layer3guru » Sun Jul 16, 2006 8:57 pm

I am running the latest 3.1.1. Under the admin UI it says snmp is running but when I do a ps on the box I do not see snmpd running and I can't get stats with cacti across the network. And I do think something is wrong with snmp because the disk are not graphing under the admin UI. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
layer3guru
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:10 pm

Configure snmp after installation?

Postby layer3guru » Mon Jul 17, 2006 4:41 pm

[quote user="layer3guru"]I am running the latest 3.1.1. Under the admin UI it says snmp is running but when I do a ps on the box I do not see snmpd running and I can't get stats with cacti across the network. And I do think something is wrong with snmp because the disk are not graphing under the admin UI. Any help would be greatly appreciated.[/QUOTE]
Scratch that I am running 3.1.4
Version 3.1.4_GA_518.SuSE10 Jun 26, 2006
14319KevinH
Ambassador
Ambassador
Posts: 4558
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:52 pm

Configure snmp after installation?

Postby 14319KevinH » Wed Jul 19, 2006 11:33 pm

Is swatch running?
layer3guru
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:10 pm

Configure snmp after installation?

Postby layer3guru » Thu Jul 20, 2006 5:11 am

[quote user="14319KevinH"]Is swatch running?[/QUOTE]
Yes swatch is running
ps ax |grep swatch

8111 pts/0 S 0:00 /usr/bin/perl /opt/zimbra/libexec/logswatch --config-file=/opt/zimbra/conf/logswatchrc --script-dir=/tmp -t /var/log/zimbra.log

8122 pts/0 S 0:00 /usr/bin/perl /tmp/.swatch_script.8111

9192 pts/0 S 0:00 /usr/bin/perl /opt/zimbra/libexec/swatch --config-file=/opt/zimbra/conf/swatchrc --script-dir=/tmp -t /var/log/zimbra.log

9204 pts/0 S 0:00 /usr/bin/perl /tmp/.swatch_script.9192

13395 pts/0 R+ 0:00 grep swatch


Even though it say snmp is running when I do a zmcontrol status if I go and start it by hand with snmpd -c /etc/snmpd.conf I can then create the graphs in cacti.
Maybe it is Suse or something but I am not having very good luck.
yetdog
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:01 pm

Configure snmp after installation?

Postby yetdog » Thu Jul 27, 2006 2:55 pm

So no one's gotten this to work w/ Cacti? I can't seem to access any SNMP functions, even though the Zimbra SNMP service seems to be running. I also did a 'yum -y install net-snmp' and a 'service snmpd start' using Zimbra's snmpd.conf file, but I still can't seem to pull any data from it. an snmpwalk done locally states that it doesn't receive a response from the localhost.

Return to “Administrators”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests